Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Pirate Latitudes

March 6, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

Current Read: Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton

One Sentence Summary: In the English colony of Port Royal, Jamaica in 1665, Pirates are hanged but Privateers are highly encouraged, although they’re basically the same thing.

Soundtrack Song: “A Bar In Amsterdam” by Katzenjammer, from the album Le Pop

Why I chose this song: The pirates, I mean Privateers, in the harbour town of Port Royal aren’t going to be listening to soft, sweet songs in the bars right off the docks. They’re going to be listening to something a little rambunctious, something that will start a riot.

But the storm is a’coming ‘cross the hills tonight,
like a vain full of rain to the
hearts that should fight.
(lyrics)

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 5:22 pm

    I haven’t read this book, heard of this group, or heard this particular song. But I think the song fits what you described perfectly. And I’ll have to look into Katzenjammer.

  2. March 9, 2010 7:40 am

    Cool music video and cool idea. I’m currently reading the Dud Avocado, which takes place in Paris in the 1950’s, with a young American woman who is ‘hell-bent on living life’. I’m only a little way into the book, but I’d choose Pink Martini’s Sympathique for the soundtrack: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cAbCjC57K0

    • March 9, 2010 11:32 am

      I love it – this song seems like such a perfect fit for that time period! Pink Martini is one of those bands that I’ve heard a lot about, but haven’t listened to. I’m going to be listening to this song on repeat for a while today :)

      Thanks for joining in on the soundtrack fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

