Skip to content

Wrapping Up February 2010

March 2, 2010

The Olympics hi-jacked pretty much all my time during the last half of February. It’s a miracle I got any reading done at all. Apart from watching live coverage every moment of the day, there were pavilions, free concerts, and general Olympic merriment to check out. Plus, we went to see some real, live Olympic curling. It. Was. Amazing.

It was so cool to see No-Funcouver come alive for a couple weeks, but Monday morning the streets were once again dreary and silent. It could be that the whole city was worn out (read: hungover) from Sunday’s hockey celebrations.

ANYway. On to books and blogs and such. I managed to finish five books in February, keeping up with the pace I started in January. I somehow manage to obtain way more books that I read, so my goal for March is to read more books from my TBR pile so they at least all fit on my TBR shelf. There’s a bit of an overflow situation going on right now.

Books finished:
Austenland by Shannon Hale – final thoughts
The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman – final thoughts (coming)
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield – final thoughtsSoundtrack Song
The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson – final thoughts
The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom – final thoughts (coming) – Soundtrack Song

Favourite book: The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. I rated The Five Love Languages higher than this one, but in terms of which book I would read again in an instant, The Thirteenth Tale wins by a long shot. Maybe I should rethink its rating?

Least favourite book: The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom. While I liked this one, I didn’t love it. It was just okay for me, so ‘just okay’ that I’m having trouble writing about it. It might be a while before the review surfaces.

Top search term: The Truth About Stacey Baby Sitters Club. 90% of these views happened during a single day. For the life of me I cannot figure out why gazillions of people were searching for that book. Okay, maybe hundreds, not gazillions, but still!

Most interesting search terms:
* mustache curler (I really don’t know what to say about this one.)
* гордость и предубеждение (That would be Pride & Prejudice in Russian. Obviously.)
* very famous peaple who live in alaska (Sorry, I can’t help you with that. But would you like to read Looking For Alaska?)
* what is the end of looking for alaska (Um, the back cover?)
* final thought of getting married (I don’t think there can be a final thought, and if there is I definitely don’t have it. Er, I recommend it? Two thumbs up?)
* is there an escape from oceania? (No, no there isn’t.)
* джейн эйр (Guesses? If you guessed Jane Eyre in Russian, give yourself a pat on the back.)
* is weihnachten celebrated today (Sorry, you missed it by about two months.)
* free down alita song (Oooh, I have a song??)

Challenges:
Book Blogger Recommendation: 3/15
Buy One Book and Read It: 0/6
Read Your Name: 3/5
Support Your Local Library: 5/25
Young Adult: 3/12

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 7:30 pm

    I love the search terms thing! :D Do you ever Google those terms yourself to see where your blog is located in the results? (I do. *cough*)

  2. March 2, 2010 7:38 pm

    I loved Thirteenth Tale too!

  3. March 3, 2010 8:24 am

    I really have to read the Thirteenth Tale, it’s been sitting in my TBR pile forever!

  4. March 3, 2010 4:44 pm

    Whoa, what’s with all the Russian searches? My blog doesn’t tell me any Russian searches.

  5. March 3, 2010 4:53 pm

    Someone gave me The Thirteenth Tale a while ago, but it’s just been sitting on my shelf. Maybe I need to actually pick it up and read it one of these days!

  6. March 4, 2010 7:28 am

    Awe that’s disappointing about the FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN book.. It’s been on my TBR list for years..

  7. March 4, 2010 2:12 pm

    I love the search terms! I just looked at mine after reading yours. One of mine is: does holden caulfield want to join the circus?

  8. March 4, 2010 9:09 pm

    Love your wrap up post! My search terms are usually very boring…am jealous of yours! *L*

    Have The Thirteenth Tale in my TBR stacks, but haven’t gotten to it yet. May have to move it up based on your recommendation. Thanks! :)

  9. March 5, 2010 2:08 pm

    lol! I actually talked about why Pride and Prejudice as my favourite book in Russian class once.

    I didn’t enjoy Thirteenth Tale as much on my reread, and I’m not sure why!

  10. March 5, 2010 6:10 pm

    I’ve only heard positive reviews for Thirteenth Tale. I think I need to get that one!!

    Thanks for joining the Hop!

  11. March 6, 2010 2:51 pm

    You actually got to go to real live Olympic events?! Color me jealous.

    The Russian search terms are a hoot. I can actually read them phonetically but I can no longer translate most Cyrillic (the wonders of high school Russian are apparently still with me to some extent).

I <3 Comments

