Skip to content

Paper Towns by John Green (final thoughts with a Special Guest!)

February 3, 2010

We have a special guest visiting Alita.Reads. today: Anastasia from Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog! Anastasia joins me to chat about Paper Towns by John Green, which we both recently read and loved.

Head over to Anastasia’s blog to read Part 1 of our chat, and then come back here for Part 2!

Alita: For me, I also knew right off the bat that I was going to enjoy this book mostly because of the writing. I had to stop and reread a couple sections already in the prologue because they were so delightful – even though they were about a couple of kids finding a dead guy.

Anastasia: One of the best things about Paper Towns is that it isn’t just one thing; it’s got layers and layers. On the surface it’s nerd-loves-popular girl, but it’s also about how what you think people are like isn’t actually what they’re like. JG shows us that through Quentin’s character growth and in the way the other characters, well, basically say it.

I think that’s actually a theme that runs through a couple of his books– I know he touches on it in LFA– but it’s expressed most plainly in PT. What did you think of that theme being included? Did it ruin the romance for you?

Alita: I loved how that theme was explored in the book. Not only the different metaphors that are thrown in, but how Quentin thinks through each of them and how they apply to himself, to Margo, to the kids at his school. Can I say which metaphor was my favourite, or would that be too spoilery?

On second thought, I don’t even think I could pick a favourite!

Anastasia: Haha, I don’t know!

Do you have anything else you want to talk about? I think all I’ve got left is incoherent squeals about the plot, characters, EVERYTHING.

Alita: Ha! All I have left is to say that Paper Towns ruined any other books for me for at least a day after completing it. I picked up another book an hour or two after finishing, and quickly put it back down because, well, it just wasn’t John Green. I ended up spending the rest of the afternoon watching John & Hank videos on youtube :)

Oh – and I’m torn between wanting to lend this book out to everyone I know because THEY ALL NEED TO READ IT, and wanting to hold tightly to it so I can reread bits and peices of it whenever I want.

Anastasia: I just immediately started reading his other books, so I was able to wean myself off after two days. :D It’s definitely a keeper, though!

Thanks for chatting with me, Anastasia! It was fun :)

My rating: 9/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday
Soundtrack Saturday

Challenges:
YA Reading Challenge – 2/12

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 5:51 am

    What a fun review! I am one of those people who didn’t read John Green’s other books because I was afraid they wouldn’t live up to Looking for Alaska – but I guess it’s time to let that go! :)

  2. February 3, 2010 1:21 pm

    Hi,
    Thanks for visiting my blog yesterday!

    I have yet to read a book by John Green…I know, I’m ashamed. I will soon….

  3. February 3, 2010 5:29 pm

    i just jumped on the JG bandwagon–read an abundance of katherines and the alaska one. i adored hassan in AAOK and wish would get his own book. your review has convinced me–i’m off to kindle paper towns.

    • February 4, 2010 4:44 pm

      Yes! You will like it, I promise, if not love it. I still have to read AAOK, which I want to read, but am also putting off so that I don’t run out of JG books :)

  4. stacybuckeye permalink
    February 4, 2010 6:37 am

    Fun review! Still haven’t read Green although I have Looking for Alaska on my wish list. Now I’ll have to add this one!

  5. February 6, 2010 7:26 am

    This one is on my list! Great discussion!

  6. Ro Manalo permalink
    February 8, 2010 6:27 pm

    Thanks for the review. Will look for this title the next time I go to the bookstore. :)

Trackbacks

  1. That time I met John & Hank Green « alita.reads.
  2. Split Review: Paper Towns by John Green » Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog

I <3 Comments

