Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Paper Towns

January 30, 2010
tags: ,

Current Read: Paper Towns by John Green

One Sentence Summary: Quentin has watched Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar for years, but it’s not until she disappears that he tries to learn what she’s really all about.

Soundtrack Song: “Readyfuels” by Anberlin, from the album Blueprints for the Blackmarket

Why I chose this song: I have one scene in mind for this song. Q, Radar, and Ben are flying down the Florida highway, free from school, and feeling the exhilaration of adventure. They don’t strike me as the kind of guys who would listen to popular music, but this is something relatively unknown that they could still feel cool rocking out to. Plus, the first line makes me think of Ben’s car.

The music was too loud for us to to talk. Once we got out of Jefferson Park, we rolled down the one window that worked so the world would know we had good taste in music. (p. 138)

What song would you add to the soundtrack for Paper Towns or the book you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 10:08 am

    I think it’s so cool that John Green actually posted a playlist for this book once! I was especially happy because it includes so much music I love :P I think creating your own is great too, though :D

  2. January 31, 2010 8:04 am

    i just finished two books by john green–so good! i loved hassan in ‘an abundance of katherines’. maybe i’ll check out this book too! thanks for the tip; i didn’t know he had a new book out.

  3. January 31, 2010 8:41 am

    I put this book on hold awhile ago at my library, and it just came up today! Will keep the “soundtrack” in mind as I read it.

    :0)

Trackbacks

  1. Wrapping up January 2010 « alita.reads.
  2. Paper Towns by John Green (final thoughts with a Special Guest!) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

