Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Outlander

January 16, 2010

Current Read: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

One Sentence Summary: While vacationing in Scotland with her husband in 1945, Claire goes for a walk and ends up in Scotland 1743.

Soundtrack Song: Scottish Folk Music by The Hired Hands

Why I chose this song: I wanted to find something traditional for this post, but most music I found was too traditional for Claire, but not traditional enough for Jamie. This seems to be the perfect mix. It sounds like a tune Claire could have listened to with Frank in 1945 Inverness, or with Jamie in 1743 Castle Leoch.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for Outlander or the book you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 4:06 pm

    wow, I love that song/video! Thank you so much for sharing :D I can’t read Outlander yet, but it’s on The List.

  2. Jenn permalink
    January 16, 2010 6:07 pm

    That was a really lovely song — I’ll have to check out some more of the Hired Hands’ material.

  3. January 16, 2010 7:27 pm

    Nymeth – Isn’t it so pretty? Yeah, Outlander was on my ever growing List for a while. I’m glad I finally got to it, but the rest of the series might have to wait for a while :)

    Jenn – I can’t stop listening to the clip, and I’m so disappointed every time it cuts out at the end. I may have to look into buying their album.

Trackbacks

  1. Wrapping up January 2010 « alita.reads.
  2. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

