Skip to content

Last books of 2009 (final thoughts)

January 13, 2010

Now that we’re almost two weeks into 2010 it’s high time I wrapped up my last three books of 2009.

Those Left Behind by Joss Whedon

This was my second foray into the world of graphic novels, the first being a Battle Angel Alita book that my husband gave me when we first started dating. So thoughtful, right? Well, I thought it was :)

Those Left Behind is the first of two Serenity graphic novels which attempt to explain a bit of what went on between the activities of the TV show Firefly and the adventures that arise in the movie Serenity.

What happens here is that Captain Malcolm Reynolds, et al. are in the middle of a job in an unpleasant environment, things to awry, they’ve got to use their collective wits to get out alive, and the guys with blue hands are after Simon and River.¬†Basically, it felt like an episode of Firefly, which made it a fun afternoon read.

My rating: 7/10

The Prairie Bridesmaid by Daria Salamon

I’m not sure how The Prairie Bridesmaid ended up on my to-read list, but there’s a good chance the cover had something to do with it. Plus the promise of some prairie-filled Canadian fun. Unfortunately, while there are some great Canadian references (ie. Jann Arden), the book didn’t live up to my expectations. I think I was expecting this to be more Chick-Lit-y that it actually was.

In her 30’s, Anna is in a relationship that is not healthy and working at a job she no longer has any passion for. The fact that she realizes things need to change gives her some points. However, she is so bitter that at times I found it hard to root for her. This wouldn’t have been as much of an issue if she would have been able to work through it, but she remains just as bitter throughout the book. Actually, she even seems to be more of a mess at the end than she was at the beginning. She does make some drastic changes which would have either set her straight or make spiral more out of control, and then that’s the last page. I like vague, open endings as much as the next person, but this just felt incomplete.

My rating: 4.5/10

The Third Elevator by Aimee Bender

Now this was the perfect way to end 2009. Aimee Bender packs so much wonderfulness into The Third Elevator’s 45 pages, I could hardly stand it. It’s the story of a serious swan that falls in love with a chatty little bluebird. And of a logger who can’t cut down any living thing without feeling physical pain himself, but must still fulfill his inherent logger’s need to cut things down. And of a miner who loves being high up in the open sky, who loves everything about the earth above ground. Plus there are kleptomaniac doves. Honestly, I cannot say enough good things about this story. If you ever have the chance to pick it up, do it!

My rating: 9/10

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 10:24 am

    what interesting books! although I have to admit the graphic novel interested me more :P

  2. January 13, 2010 10:30 am

    I want The Third Elevator right now!! It sounds perfect :D

  3. Jenn permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:07 am

    I think you sold me on The Third Elevator with the mention of kleptomaniac doves.

  4. January 13, 2010 3:40 pm

    i’m bummed about the prairie bridesmaid–the cover is just my speed. oh, oops. i made one resolution this year: not to judge books by their covers. shoot. i blew it already!

    • January 13, 2010 4:03 pm

      I’ve seen other reviews where people have really liked it. I might have liked it more if I hadn’t started it expecting something light and fun.

      But I do love the cover! It’s still a lovely addition to our bookcase :)

  5. January 13, 2010 4:38 pm

    How disappointing about The Prairie Bridesmaid. It looks so cute. :-( But the Aimee Bender looks adorable.

  6. January 13, 2010 6:06 pm

    Ooo, love love love Firefly! I had no idea there were GNs out. I’ll have to check em out :D

  7. January 14, 2010 9:58 am

    Sorry to see The Prairie Bridesmaid isn’t that good, since it’s in my TBR pile.

  8. January 14, 2010 6:56 pm

    I liked Those Left Behind, but I think the other one – Better Days? I can’t remember the title! – was, to me, much more like an episode of Firefly. (Wish the show would return.)

I <3 Comments

