Skip to content

Three Fantastic Books (final thoughts)

December 31, 2009

There a Petal Silently Falls by Ch’oe Yun

One word: Haunting. Originally written in Korean and translated to English, this book contains a novella and two stories, “Whisper Yet” and “The Thirteen-Scent Flower”. The two additional stories are okay, of them I enjoyed the second one the most. However, the title novella that opens the collection takes the cake. It’s about a girl who has witnessed a horrific tragedy and is left drifting through the countryside. The writing is beautiful, I can only imagine how wonderful it would be in the original Korean. Although it could easily be read in one sitting, it’s one of those stories you want to take your time with. My rating: 9/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

This is another classic I’ve read this year that has helped dispel my belief that classics are daunting. Short and sweet, this really is the perfect Christmastime read. As is true with most books, the original is far better than any adaptation I’ve seen. I’m already looking forward to re-reading this novella many Christmases to come. Maybe next year I will even get to the other Christmas stories included in my copy. And then follow up the reading with a viewing of The Muppet Christmas Carol. My rating: 9/10

Related:
Soundtrack Saturday
Back to School Challenge: 4/4 complete
Holiday Reading Challenge: 2/2 complete

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I had been looking forward to reading The Kite Runner ever since I read A Thousand Splendid Suns earlier this year. Since I was unable to put Suns down once I started it, I knew I would need a long, uninterrupted period of reading time to take on Runner, and Christmas break seemed like the perfect opportunity. However, it’s not the most uplifting book to read on Christmas. It didn’t grip me as much as Suns did, but it was still a fantastic story that was both infuriating the inspiring. My rating: 9/10

5 Comments leave one →
  1. historyofshe permalink
    December 31, 2009 5:24 pm

    I loved (and cried a river at) A Thousand Splendid Suns but have put off The Kite Runner for some reason. I think I’ll have to make it a point to pick it up.

    • January 1, 2010 11:39 am

      A Thousand Splendid Suns made me bawl as well. I wasn’t expecting it to have that kind of impact when I picked it up!

  2. January 3, 2010 11:54 am

    Glad you liked Christmas Carol! It is better than its (dozens of) adaptations, but there are still a few really superb ones. My favorite being the Muppets. I am such a child sometimes. :P

  3. January 14, 2010 11:30 am

    O I LOVED A Christmas Carol! Great review.

Trackbacks

  1. Looking Back, Moving Forward « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

