Skip to content

Book #42 – Watership Down (final thoughts)

December 23, 2009

When I joined the Back to School Challenge a couple months ago, I added Watership Down by Richard Adams to my list in a heartbeat. And while I read other books for the challenge, and various books in between, I had this one in the back of my head. I couldn’t wait to read it. I can’t tell you how much I wanted to like it.

*Very vague plot summary ahead*
The book starts off in a large, established warren. Everything seems okay, but a small rabbit gets a bad feeling about their current living situation, so he and his brother take off with a bunch of other rabbits to start their own warren. After some trials and tribulations, they settle down in a nice place and it looks like they have a good thing going for them. However, brother rabbit realizes that this good thing may not last very long – they’re all guys. What they need are some womenfolk. So, they go in search of some womenfolk.
*Vague plot summary over*

I don’t want to say I didn’t like it, there were parts that I really did enjoy. However, I couldn’t get into it, I couldn’t get myself to care about the story. If it weren’t for my obsessive need to finish any book that I start, I could have easily put the book down unfinished. I wish I knew where it went wrong for me. Maybe it was because I had seen the movie a couple times when I was younger and knew what was going to happen. Although, the book is less about plot and more about narrative. So maybe at the time I needed to read something that was more plot-driven.

It seems that every other person who has read this book has loved it, and I very much wanted to be one of those. But, while I’m glad I read it, Watership Down just wasn’t for me.

My rating: 6/10

Back to School Challenge: 3/4 complete

Related:
Teaser Tuesday #1
Teaser Tuesday #2
Soundtrack Saturday

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 12:14 pm

    Hey Alita! I just wanted to pop in to wish you HAPPY HOLIDAYS! :0)

  2. stacybuckeye permalink
    December 25, 2009 2:35 pm

    Oh, that’s too bad. I love this one :)

  3. December 27, 2009 6:46 am

    Sorry it wasn’t better for you! I can definitely imagine that having seen the movie would make a difference (& not in a good way) – when I first read it, I was shaking with suspense the entire time.

  4. December 28, 2009 4:09 pm

    I don’t remember particulars really but I do know that when I read this one (could it have actually been when I was in school?), I didn’t end up loving it. Actually, it was one of the reasons I am very leery of anthropormorphized animal books so it has a lot to answer for!

  5. December 29, 2009 5:32 pm

    I never read this book. I remember it showing up on a reading list in high school and my mom telling me it wasn’t too good so I chose something else. Sorry you didn’t like it. I hate reading books only to find you don’t really like them but feel like you have to finish them. I always hope they get better but they never do.

  6. January 1, 2010 8:32 am

    I had much the same reaction to this book. I think I first tried it in elementary. I keep meaning to try it again since everyone else seems to love it so much. It wasn’t necessarily a bad book, it just didn’t grab me.

    Glad to know I’m not alone!

  7. January 1, 2010 11:37 am

    Kristen & KT – THANK YOU! I was really thinking that I was the only person who didn’t love this book. Feeling better than I’m not the only one :)

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Round Up (01.04.09) « alita.reads.
  2. Monday Round Up (01.04.10) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

