Skip to content

Thursday Tunes – Stars

December 3, 2009
tags:

Thursday Tunes is hosted by S. Krishna’s Books, which spotlights a different band/artist each week. I’m going to join in once a month to highlight Canadian artists.

My December pick are Canadian indie rock darlings Stars. They released their first album, Nightsongs, in 2001, which started to build some buzz. But it’s Set Yourself On Fire, released in 2004, that is considered their breakout album. It’s chalked full of layered, soaring melodies that will alternately make you want to sway or tap your toes (sometimes both in the same song!). It’s the kind of music that sounds great on record, but you’re never sure will translate well to a live setting. I’ve been to two Stars shows, and both times I’ve been blown away with how great they are live. Given the chance, I would go see them again without a doubt.

Here for your listening pleasure is “Ageless Beauty”, still one of my favourites.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 5:34 am

    I really like it! I’ll have to see if I can get one of their albums.

  2. December 8, 2009 8:33 am

    I haven’t heard of this band, but I’ll definitely have to check them out. Thanks for playing!

I <3 Comments

