Skip to content

More 2010 Challenges!

December 2, 2009

I’m joining two more 2010 challenges, and then that will be it. Hopefully. Maybe.

A couple weeks ago Jennifer asked book bloggers to let her know what their top 5-10 books of all time were. 33 bloggers sent their lists in, and Jennifer carefully complied all the entries to create one massive list. She’s going to do a couple fun things with that list, the first being the 2010 Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge.

She’s set the challenge at 5 levels of participation. I’m going to jump in at level 3 (as I gnaw my fingernails away with trepidation), which is 15 books. Seriously, there are 234 books on the list, just narrowing it down to 15 was difficult enough (although that fact that rereads do no count made it a bit easier).

These are the books I’m hoping to read for this challenge (so thankful many of them will also count towards the YA challenge!):

1. Hush, Hush – Becca Fitzpatrick
2. Outlander – Diana Gabaldon
3. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
4. Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins
5. Shiver – Maggie Stiefvater
6. Bitter is the New Black – Jen Lancaster
7. Undead and Unwed – MaryJanice Davidson
8. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
9. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
10. Persuasion – Jane Austen
11. The Princess Diaries – Meg Cabot
12. The Help – Kathryn Stockett
13. Hate List – Jennifer Brown
14. The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom
15. Uglies – Scott Westerfeld

I’m also very excited about joining the 2010 Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge hosted by J. Kaye! There are four levels to this challenge, and I’m going to join aim for The Mini (25 books). For more info, or to join the challenge, head over here.

Throughout the year I will be updating my progress with these two challenges, as well as the others I’ve already joined, on my brand new Challenges page.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 11:29 am

    Get bunch of books listed for your Book Blogger Challenge! I have read or want to read all of them :)

  2. December 2, 2009 11:31 am

    oooo awesome challenges there. I’m thinking of joining that support local library one, as I take books out of there weekly (well, not now because of the move but things will pick up again) :) good luck and have fun.

  3. December 2, 2009 11:40 am

    Great list. I didn’t know there was blogger recommendation challenge. Those kind of challenges are always fun.I may just join. Good luck with your challenges.

  4. December 2, 2009 4:43 pm

    Mel – Thanks! A couple of the books on that list I’ve been wanting to read for a while – maybe now I will!

    Karoline – Most of the books I read are from the library, so that one shouldn’t be too difficult. And now that I’ve said that, the library challenge will probably be the only one I don’t complete. ;)

    Vasilly – You should at least check out that list Jennifer put together. There are some interesting picks…but generally a lot of quality books were included.

  5. December 2, 2009 5:29 pm

    fun!! i did something similar last may–i asked book bloggers for a favorite read and came up with a list of 31 books that i’m still working my way through! (the list is actually on my blog with links to the titles and the blogger who suggested the book.)

    good luck with the challenge–there are some great ones on your list–i loved ‘the help’ and jennifer lancaster is an author who always makes me laugh. :)

  6. December 2, 2009 6:14 pm

    Thanks for joining the challenge! I’ve read 5 on your list and loved them all. Have fun!

  7. December 4, 2009 6:34 pm

    Welcome to Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge. I am so glad you have decided to join us in the fun. 2010 is going to be a great year in reading. I can just feel it!

  8. December 6, 2009 1:27 pm

    There are some great books in that list, including The Hitchhiker’s Guide, and The Book Thief. While I enjoyed The Five People You Meet In Heaven, Tuesdays with Morrie is still my favourite book by Mitch Albom.

    I hope to read the whole Suzanne Collins trilogy next year as well, as well as The Help.

    Best of luck on this one.

I <3 Comments

