Skip to content

Thursday Tunes – Dan Mangan

November 19, 2009
tags:

Thursday Tunes is hosted by S. Krishna’s Books, which spotlights a different band/artist each week. I was so excited when I came across this meme the other day and because I love sharing music! I know, I know, my blog is called AlitaReads. But Alita listens to music, too. Often while reading. And working. And commuting. And eating. And sometimes while sleeping.

I’m hoping to highlight Canadian artists on Thursdays so that it doesn’t overlap too much with my Soundtrack Saturdays feature. Also because there are SO MANY fantastic Canadian artists out there!

First up we have Vancouver’s own Dan Mangan. I was introduced to his singer/songwriter, folky-ish music over 2 years ago, not long after his debut album came out, Postcards and Daydreaming. The song “Journal Of A Narcoleptic” off that album is one of my most favourite songs ever and the most listened-to song on my iTunes. This past year he released his second full-length album, Nice, Nice, Very Nice, which still features Mangan’s gravelly voice but is a bit more upbeat than Postcards. The video for “Robots,” his first single off the new album, just came out, and it’s pretty fantastic.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 12:43 pm

    Is that where V is filmed in Vancouver? I’ve always wanted to visit there…so many great TV shows have been filmed up there….X-Files for the first few seasons and Stargate SG-1!

    • November 19, 2009 4:11 pm

      Yeah, it’s filled in Vancouver. I went to get coffee one day, and suddenly found myself in the middle of a V protest scene!

I <3 Comments

