Skip to content

Book #41 – Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married (final thoughts)

November 15, 2009

lucy sullivanWhen her coworkers convince her to visit a psychic with them, Lucy Sullivan isn’t expecting much, other than a few laughs. And she can’t help but scoff at what the psychic tells her – that she will be married a less than a year. You see, Lucy has never had much luck with men. She doesn’t even have a boyfriend, not even any possibilities waiting in the wings. She’s ready to write the whole thing off, but then her coworkers’ predictions start coming true. Will Lucy finally meet the man of her dreams?

Marian Keyes is by far one of my favourite authors. She writes chick lit that deals with tough subjects without making them seem trivial. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed every book I’ve read by her and expected the same experience when I picked up Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married. Unfortunately it wasn’t to be, at least not for the first part. The first half of this 600+ page book infuriated me so much I almost stopped reading and it became my inspiration for last week’s Booking Through Thursday post (Is life too short for bad books?). The story seemed a bit wobbly, but it was Lucy who drove me up the wall. To people who were nice to her, she really couldn’t have been meaner. I think she was supposed to come off as a tease, but it wasn’t funny to me. Instead, she welcomed in people (read: men) who used her and treated her horribly. But she was completely oblivious to how they acted and thought they were wonderful.

Like I said, I almost gave up on Lucy, but Keyes hadn’t let me down in the past and I didn’t want her to now. So I kept on reading. And I am so glad I did! Keyes’ charm came out in full force as Lucy was required to see some situations as they really were. I finally found that I could rally behind her and cheer her on. At one point I almost wanted to use the phrase “You go, girl!” Almost.

It took me a week to read the first 300 pages, but I flew through the last 300 in about two days. I so enjoyed watching Lucy grow up that I couldn’t put the book down. The realizations she came to weren’t always easy for her (or the reader) to swallow, but I was completely drawn into her life. I won’t say how the book ended, but I will say that at one point I thought my heart was going to burst with joy, it was so wonderful.

My rating: 6/10. Rating would have been much higher if not for the beginning of the book.

Have you had a similar experience with a book, where one half of it didn’t work for you at all but you really enjoyed the other half?

Related:
Teaser Tuesday
Booking Through Thursday
Soundtrack Saturday

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 9:07 am

    This is one of the Marian Keyes I still need to read, and I’ve had characters of her’s annoy me before, so your review is worrying me a little! The good thing about most of Keyes’ other books is that there’s at least three main characters, so if one character annoyed me I could focus my attention on the others (like Clodagh in Sushi for Beginners— hated her, loved the other two). But if there’s only one protagonist and she annoys the crap out of you…? Danger!

    • November 15, 2009 6:11 pm

      This is the 6th book by Keyes I’ve read, and it’s the first one I haven’t loved. I think this was just an off one for me, I know some people really liked it. Have you read Anybody Out There? That was my absolute favourite so far.

      Totally agree about Clodagh. She drove me nuts.

  2. November 15, 2009 5:48 pm

    i read a few marian keyes books a while back but haven’t picked one up in a while. right now i’m struggling to get through the newest installment of the kay scarpetta series–a favorite for MANY years. i’ve had the book from the library for 2 weeks and can’t get past page 60. i don’t know what’s wrong with me!

    i just picked up a bunch of new stuff to read on saturday and have a sinking feeling that i’ll be shuffling kay scarpetta to the bottom of my TBR pile…for now.

    • November 15, 2009 6:38 pm

      Hopefully you just need a break from it. But putting down a book unfinished is easier said than done!

  3. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 16, 2009 2:13 pm

    Congratulations on finishing a book of that length when you didn’t care for it. Glad it got better.

  4. November 17, 2009 3:25 pm

    That’s why I don’t like to abandon books : sometime, after a while they actually get better. I have yet to read anything by Keyes, but that’s been on my to do list for a few months now!

  5. November 17, 2009 11:18 pm

    I admit Lucy was pretty annoying and I didn’t enjoy this one as much I enjoyed some of her other books.

    Marian Keyes is a great writer, but I feel she is kind of getting stuck in her groove.

  6. November 18, 2009 11:01 am

    stacybuckeye – Thanks! I’m so glad I stuck around for the wonderfulness that was the last half of the book.

    kay – It’s true, you never know if it will get better. Sometimes they don’t, but when they do I feel like I’m being rewarded for sticking it through. When you start with Keyes, I’d recommend starting with Watermelon. Or The Other Side Of The Story. Or Anybody Out There. Really, she has lots of great books. Maybe just don’t start with Lucy.

    Nish – This was one of her first books, so maybe she hadn’t hit her groove yet?

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Round Up (11.16.09) « alita.reads.
  2. Book #43 – Ex-mas (final thoughts) « alita.reads.
  3. Angels by Marian Keyes (final thoughts) « alita.reads.
  4. Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

