Skip to content

2009 Holiday Reading Challenge

November 14, 2009
tags:

christmas-ornaments-1-1I’m so very excited about signing up for the 2009 Holiday Reading Challenge hosted by Nely. I wanted to read some holiday-themed books this season, so this is exactly the extra motivation I need!

The challenge runs from November 20 – December 31, and you can read 1 – 5 (or more) books. For full details and to sign up, head over to Nely’s blog.

So far I have two books picked out:

* A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

* Ex-mas by Kate Brian

I may end up adding more books to this list, but this is a pretty good start for me!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 9:44 am

    I’m so glad you’ve decided to join the challenge, Alita! I’ll be looking forward to your reviews.

    Happy Reading!
    ♥Nely

  2. November 17, 2009 3:20 pm

    I read Christmas Carol too last year, and really loved it! It helped that I had a beautiful illustrated edition, too!
    I plan on reading Ex-mas too. I already have it on my pile, but I’m thinking on reading it in December.

  3. November 18, 2009 10:50 am

    Nely – Thanks for hosting! I’ve already started listening to Christmas music, I can’t wait to get into some Christmas reading!

    kay – I wanted to leave Ex-mas until december, too, but I may have to read it earlier. It’s due back at the library next week and for some reason someone’s put a hold on it so I can’t renew. The nerve. ;)

  4. Schatzi permalink
    November 28, 2009 3:44 am

    Looks fun–I had to join up!

  5. November 28, 2009 11:39 pm

    Turns out Dickens wrote quite a few Christmas stories/novels/novellas. One was called Cricket on the Hearth and my second pony (from age 12-14 and then I was too tall and got a horse) was named after it. I’m finally going to read it. I always thought it was a poem. Because there’s a poem by the name or maybe the poem is in the book. I will find out.

Trackbacks

  1. Book #43 – Ex-mas (final thoughts) « alita.reads.
  2. Three Fantastic Books (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

