Skip to content

Book #40 – The Truth About Stacey

November 10, 2009

When Amy announced that she was going to host a Baby-Sitters Club Week, I knew I had to be involved. I signed up to do a review without a second thought. However, when the second thought came around I realized I actually needed to find one of the books to review. A library would have the books, right? To my great disappointment, I found out that neither the Burnaby nor Vancouver public libraries carry the original series anymore. How sad is that? They both carry the updated graphic novel versions, but those aren’t the same.

After a panicked email to a bunch of friends failed to turn up any books, I make a trip to Value Village. I don’t know what I was expecting, but their Teen section was like a trip down memory lane. There were Sweet Valley books galore, plus this book that I loved back in the day about this girl who’s football player boyfriend dies (of cancer?) and she’s all heartbroken until the Spring when she realizes that her boyfriend had planted flowers in the middle of the football field for her. Anyway, it took a bit of searching, and then there they were, dispersed throughout the mess of youthfulness, the first three books in the Baby-Sitters Club series. It was a hard choice, but I decided on book #3 – The Truth About Stacey.

BSC StaceyStacey McGill has missed big city life since she moved from New York City in August, but is enjoying life in small Stoneybrook, CT thanks to her new friends Kristy, Claudia and Mary Anne. Together they’ve even started a business – The Baby-Sitters Club. The Club has been in existence for about two months, providing the families of Stoneybrook with access to four baby-sitters with only one phone call. Business has been good, however that doesn’t mean that the girls can become complacent. Oh, no. There’s trouble a-brewin’.

Enter in the Baby-Sitters Agency, who promise to connect would-be clients with a whole network of baby-sitters through a single phone call. Kristy does some stealthy undercover work and finds out what the deal is. Apparently all parents need to do is call one of the founders of the agency (Liz or Michelle), tell them when they need a baby-sitter, and the girls phone around and set up someone for the appropriate time. And the baby-sitters they have access to are not only older than the girls in the Baby-Sitters Club, but can stay out later, even on weeknights! This is bad news, bad news indeed.

As if this drama isn’t enough to put Stacey in a funk, her parents have decided that she needs to see this supposably awesome new holistic doctor in NYC. You see, Stacey had diabetes and her parents have been dragging her to doctor after doctor after doctor to get this thing cured. But Stacey’s smart, she knows they aren’t going to find a cure, and that the routine they have now is working just fine. How can she convince her parents that going to see this doctor isn’t a good idea?

I’m not going to tell you how everything is resolved, because I know you all want to read this now and I wouldn’t want to spoil it for you. There’s a whole lot of drama, a bunch of emergency BSC meetings, and more than a few tears. Ann M. Martin throws spies, sabotage, and deception into the mix, but she also includes sweet romances, wild parties, and heartwarming reunions. Really, it has everything a 12-year old would want.

I can’t tell you how much I loved these books when I was a kid. I remember studying the list of BSC titles at the back of each book. It was probably my earliest TBR list. This series made me thing that being a baby-sitter would be great fun. So much that I even took a baby-sitting course, in which we learned how to make our very own Kid Kits (I don’t think that’s what they were called in the course, but the were basically the same thing). How disappointed was I to find out that baby-sitting was not fun. In fact, I greatly disliked it. However, that did not deter me from devouring each and every Baby-Sitters Club book I could get my hands on.

Thanks Amy for organizing this trip down memory lane!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 10:41 am

    I loved the Babysitters Club books.

  2. readwhatyouknow permalink
    November 10, 2009 12:27 pm

    I made my own Kid Kits too! But I actually really wound up liking babysitting, haha. This was one of my favorite books — so much drama for such a small book.

    • November 10, 2009 11:04 pm

      It’s true, Ms. Martin was a pro at packing so much into so few pages.

  3. November 10, 2009 4:52 pm

    Um, I love the BSC, but I believe “this girl who’s football player boyfriend dies (of cancer?) and she’s all heartbroken until the Spring when she realizes that her boyfriend had planted flowers in the middle of the football field for her” was a LORRAINE MCDANIELS novel–which I also was totally into. Lorraine McDaniels was like Jodi Picoult for tweens. Thanks for reminding me of her!

    • November 10, 2009 4:56 pm

      THAT’S who it was! I knew it wasn’t a BSC book and I tried to make a mental note of what it was called so I could look it up when I got home, but completely forgot. I just looked it up, and the book I was talking about is “Don’t Die, My Love.” That book made me cry so much.

  4. November 10, 2009 5:19 pm

    Confession: I used to sneak read my younger sisters copies of the Baby Sitters club. I remember this book-it brings back so many memories!

    • November 10, 2009 11:07 pm

      That made me laugh :) Obviously you were a true bibliophile in the making.

  5. inthemainstream permalink
    November 10, 2009 10:12 pm

    a) everything I know about diabetes is from the BSC
    b) Don’t Die My Love is the epitome of…well…everything. As is the Lifetime movie made after it.

    • November 10, 2009 11:10 pm

      Don’t Die My Love made me cry so much my mom became concerned and asked me if it was healthy to read such sad books.

      And, um, there was a movie? I need to track that down.

  6. historyofshe permalink
    November 10, 2009 10:37 pm

    Ah! I loved all of these books– and the tv shows too!

  7. November 11, 2009 2:20 am

    My library didn’t have any copies either, which is just shocking!

    I think this was also my earliest TBR list too, although I was quite OCD about reading the in order.

  8. November 11, 2009 3:31 am

    Aw, my sisters and I loved the idea of Kid Kits, we definitely made something similar when we started baby-sitting. Except ours were mainly all about books and balloons for making balloon animals (always a big hit).

  9. November 11, 2009 5:26 am

    The BSC was SUCH a great series. I am going to start collecting them for Carli (ah – well, myself too!) I don’t remember so much drama in this one.. but it’s been a long, long time since I’ve read it!

    I used kid kits, too :)

  10. November 11, 2009 11:04 am

    I loved reading The Babysitters Club series. Thankfully, my mom has kept my collection!
    The books were the reason I started my company FindTheBestNanny.com. It’s like a virtual babysitters club!

  11. November 11, 2009 7:07 pm

    oh!!! the football player book!! i own it! sad, right? lurleen mcdaniels writes teen saga-style books–always death and heartbreak!

    congrats on the BSC–i just finished up 2 sweet valley twins books. ha! i’m regressing over here…

  12. Schatzi permalink
    November 28, 2009 3:45 am

    OMG, this summer, I got totally addicted to BSC recap blogs. There are a ton out there; you should check them out!

    • November 28, 2009 5:03 pm

      Recap blogs? I’m definitely going to have to check those out!

      During the BSC week, I did see some book recaps featuring Stacey. The one that creeped me out was where Stacey has a crush on an older guy, and he seems to like her too. The kicker? She’s 13 and he’s 22. Eww!

  13. December 2, 2009 12:35 pm

    I also loved the books, and the TV show! I also took a babysitter’s course at my local library to prepare me for a life of babysitting. It was alright – no where near as cool as it was in the books.

    When I was in elementary school, I used to read the BSC Little Sister’s books. Those were cute.

I <3 Comments

