Skip to content

Random Thoughts on a Friday

November 6, 2009

Happy Friday! It’s a wet, rainy, basically miserable day here, just the kind of day that makes you want to share as much happiness as possible. Here are a few things that are lifting my spirits today.

bookbloggerholidayswapBook Bloggers Holiday Swap – Have you heard of this? Just thinking of it makes my heart swell with joy. When I started my blog earlier this year, I had no idea there was such a wonderful community of book bloggers out there. First I find out that they like to promote and give each other awards. In fact there’s a whole week dedicated to it. Then I found out that twice a year, they spend an entire 24 hrs not only reading together, but cheering each other on. And now I find out that they like to give each other gifts at Christmas? Seriously, you guys are amazing.

I signed up the other day and am so excited to find out who I get to send a present to. If you are a book blogger, sign up soon! The deadline is November 12.

deweys-readathonbuttonSpeaking of wonderfulness and reading together for 24 hrs, the Spring Read-a-Thon date has been announced. On April 10, 2010, book bloggers around the world will be making their way through teetering piles of of books, joining in on challenges and making up cheers. The Spring ‘thon happens to be the day before my birthday, so my participation will depend on what kind of birthday plans I have going on that weekend. But how wonderful of a birthday would a weekend of reading be?

Next week My Friend Amy is hosting a Baby-Sitters Club week. That’s right, a whole week of reviews, character profiles, and reminiscing about how awesome that series was back in the day. I’ll be posting a review on Tuesday, so check back and we’ll reminisce together.

I caved and joined Twitter. Like, just joined, not even 24 hrs ago. So follow me! Watch me try to figure out how the heck this thing works. @alitareads

What are some things you’re excited about today?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. maplesyrup10 permalink
    November 6, 2009 12:09 pm

    interesting…

  2. sumej permalink
    November 6, 2009 12:48 pm

    Hey Alita, I could not agree more! When I started my blog in August I had no idea how awesome the book blogger community was either! I just love meeting people like YOU and supporting eachother. I am SUPER excited about the gift exchange too! I sent mine in already but I haven’t heard back, maybe I’ll send it again?

    • November 6, 2009 12:54 pm

      I think they’re going to email everyone at the end of next week to say who you’re going to be sending a present to. I haven’t heard anything back yet either…just counting down to the end of next week!

  3. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 8, 2009 8:53 am

    Well, if you figure out Twitter let me know! The book blogging commmunity is a wonderful one and you are a big part of that. I have an award for you here
    http://stacybuckeye.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/awards-and-holiday-fun/

  4. November 8, 2009 6:52 pm

    I’m glad you’re doing the swap – it was so much fun last year!

  5. November 9, 2009 11:46 am

    Stacy – Aw, thank you! You’re so sweet :) And twitter is super easy, you need to jump on the bandwagon.

    bermudaonion – I’m looking forward to it so much! The email saying which name I have can’t come soon enough!

I <3 Comments

