Skip to content

Book #39 – The Hunger Games (final thoughts)

November 5, 2009

I love reading series and for a while now I’ve been looking a new series that I could really get into. The kind that when you finish one book you immediately need to read the next one. I was hoping to find that in the Sookie Stackhouse books, but those haven’t hooked me. I was even hoping that the Cece Caruso Mysteries would be a fun series to get in to, but it wasn’t meant to be. Then along came Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games.

hunger gamesI don’t think there’s another book I’ve heard more about in the book blogosphere, especially since the release of Catching Fire, the second book in the series. I tried to brush it off at first, but then then my curiosity got the best of me and I added my name to the hold list at the library. When it finally came in I had to fight the urge to drop everything else I was reading and dive right into it. I had butterflies in my stomach just knowing it was in my bag, waiting to be read. When was the last time I was this excited about reading a book? I have no idea. Harry Potter, maybe?

The Hunger Games is set sometime in the future, after North America as we know it has collapsed. Out of its ruins came Panem, a nation divided into 12 districts, all under the control of the Capitol. As a reminder of its dominance, each year the Capitol selects two teens, one girl and one boy, from each district to participate in the Hunger Games. A fight to the death that is televised throughout Panem and is mandatory for each citizen to watch.

There has already been so much said about this book, I’m not going to say much else about the plot. So let’s move on.

During the first part of the book I was a little worried that it wouldn’t live up to the hype. It was interesting and all, but it wasn’t gripping. And then the Hunger Games began. And I was hooked. Completely hooked. I couldn’t have put the book down, even if I wanted to. Once the action starts, it doesn’t stop. Katniss, the main character, doesn’t get much, if any, rest as a participant in the games and neither does the reader.

Speaking of Katniss, I love that she’s a strong character. She doesn’t necessarily need anyone’s help, she knows how to survive. But that doesn’t mean that she’s above accepting help when she needs it, although she might not be too happy about it. I also really like that she doesn’t change who she is just because a guy is interested in her. She doesn’t lie down and let him take things over. She also doesn’t do anything stupid or risky (at least not anything more risky than she would have done before). She’s a refreshing change from many of the girls who currently star in YA stories.* I hope this doesn’t change in book 2.

In case I haven’t made it clear yet, The Hunger Games lives up to the hype. If you like action, read this book. If you like science fiction, read this book. If you like a sweet love story, read this book. If you do not like any of the above, but like a fast-paced, gripping story, READ THIS BOOK.

Okay, I think you get my point.

My rating: 9.5/10

* CarrieK at Books and Movies talked a bit about this issue the other day in her review of Hush Hush.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 9:06 pm

    Yay! I have been so worried about the hype factor for this one. I have had bad luck with those books that are raved about and I keep waiting and waiting for the WOW which never seems to happen. Okay, I give in, I’ll read it!

  2. November 5, 2009 9:06 pm

    Oh, and love the new look!

  3. November 6, 2009 5:34 pm

    I think that you did a really good job reviewing it. I really enjoyed Catching Fire and the Hunger Games, even though Catching Fire was just a little bit to much like the Hunger Games, but I still thought that it was an amazing book. Can’t wait for book three :D

    http://themockingjay.vndv.com

  4. November 21, 2009 8:54 pm

    I adore this book.

Trackbacks

  1. Wrapping up November « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

