Skip to content

Book #38 – In Her Shoes (final thoughts)

November 4, 2009

In Her ShoesRose Feller spent her childhood trying to protect her younger sister. Now 30 and working at a big law firm, she’s still trying to protect her sister by cleaning up her messes – unpaid bills, evictions, drunken dates gone wrong.

Maggie Feller never had her big sister’s brains, but she has something else – looks and a fantastic body. Maggie might not have a steady job, but at least she won’t ever be lonely like Rose.

1000 miles away, Ella Hirsch has thrown herself into volunteering in and around her Florida retirement community. Maybe if she helps enough people, her good works will make up for the daughter she lost and the granddaughters she allowed herself to be separated from.

Jennifer Weiner has been on my to-read list for a long time, but for some reason I put off reading any of her stuff. However, a few months ago, while channel surfing, I came across the movie In Her Shoes. It was pretty good and since the book is usually better than the movie, I finally decided to take the book out of the library.

Rose, Maggie and Ella all get a chance to tell their side of the story in In Her Shoes. The point of view changes from chapter to chapter, something that I really enjoy when it’s done well, and Weiner does it well.

It’s already been a while since I saw the movie, but I still had the basic plot in my head while I read the book. So, I had a pretty good idea of what was going to go down. I spent the first third of the book waiting for The Incident to happen, the big thing that causes some changes to start taking place in all three characters’ lives. I don’t know if it was the waiting or the story, but the first part of the book dragged a bit for me. It was okay, it just didn’t pull me in.

The story really took off right after The Incident, that’s when I was pulled in. I loved watching both Maggie and Rose struggle and take chances and grow. Some of the solutions they reached may have been a bit far-fetched, but Weiner does a good job convincing the reader that these things really could happen.

At this point I thought I would walk away having really liked this book. But then the last third happened. I do like how Maggie’s story carried on and resolved itself, but Rose’s seemed contrived. I really wanted to get on board with the whole love interest thing, but I just couldn’t.

Overall, it was an okay, but enjoyable read. I probably would have liked it more if I hadn’t already seen the movie.

My rating: 7/10

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 5:20 pm

    It’s been a few years since I read the book and even more since I saw the movie. I remember liking it, but not being overly impressed. At this point I can hardly remember the book, and while not a good sign, not a horrible one either. Just means it wasn’t very memorable for me, right? I think that’s the only one of her books I’ve read.

    I think I’d have to read the book and watch the movie again to decide which I liked better, but I think at the time I liked the book for filling in some more.

  2. November 4, 2009 6:34 pm

    They changed a lot for the movie. I liked both, but I think I’d have to read/see both again to see if my original thoughts were the same about them. I want to say that this was Jennifer Weiner’s debut book.

  3. November 4, 2009 7:31 pm

    kt – I completely agree. I liked the book, it just wasn’t super memorable. As for which I liked better, the movie or book, I’m really not sure. I’ll have to watch the movie again. But I did picture Cameron Diaz as Maggie the whole time I was reading the book.

    Colette – I just checked, and Good In Bed was her debut, In Her Shoes was her second. Have you read that one?

  4. November 4, 2009 8:12 pm

    I liked the movie a lot – I am a big fan of Toni Collette. I have been meaning to read the book, though, just to see what’s different between the two. If I’d known it was in different points of view, I might have read it sooner – I loove multiple pov stories!

  5. November 5, 2009 10:21 am

    I saw that movie a while ago…but you’re right it’s always hard to when it’s a book and a movie. Of course if you read the book first the whole time you’re like, “that’s not what happens in the book!”

  6. November 8, 2009 12:17 pm

    I agree the book wasn’t super memorable — I actually had read the book and then saw the movie. I made it through the first half hour of the movie and was like…wait I’ve seen this – then realized that actually I had read it.

    Both the movie and the book were just okay in my opinion.

    By the way thanks for cheering for me in the Read-A-thon and Great blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Snippet Thoughts: Good In Bed, Brava Valentine, I’ve Got Your Number, Please Forgive Me « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

