Skip to content

Monday Round Up (10.26.09)

October 26, 2009

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Once again I didn’t have a stellar reading week.

I finished 1984 by George Orwell, which was so up and down for me, I don’t really know what to make of it. Hopefully I’ll have some thoughts posted on it soon.

On Saturday, my read-a-thon book for the times I wasn’t cheering was In Her Shoes by Jennifer Weiner. I’ll continue working on that one this week.

And what comes next? Maybe, could it be, The Hunger Games??!

library-loot

Library Loot is hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

On Friday my husband and I made a quick trip to the library because a couple books I had on hold had arrived.

I got The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (finally!!) and Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 8:38 am

    Enjoy Hunger Games! I just read it (and dutifully returned it to the library immediately so that someone else can read it!) and I wish I hadn’t waited so long to do it. It’s great!

  2. October 26, 2009 10:23 am

    I adored 1984, however, I read it before 1984. I should probably read it again. It looks as though you have some promising books lined up this week.

  3. October 26, 2009 10:41 am

    Everyone seems to love The Hunger Games but I haven’t read it yet.

  4. October 26, 2009 11:51 am

    Ronnica – I’m glad you liked it! I kept reading so much about it during the RaT that I wanted to put aside my current book and go right to that one.

    Jennifer – I really wanted to love it, and there were parts that I liked a lot. But there were other parts that I struggled to get through.

    bermudaonion – I was starting to think I was the only one who hadn’t read it!

  5. Carol permalink
    October 26, 2009 1:07 pm

    I haven’t read The Hunger Games, either. I feel like I should and soon.

  6. October 26, 2009 1:44 pm

    I haven’t read The Hunger Games either. Everyone does rave about it. I saw the movie In Her Shoes but haven’t read the book. The movie was good.

  7. October 26, 2009 3:32 pm

    I dearly love Jennifer Weiner! And if you are feeling down about how many books you’ve read, go to my last Monday’s post. I completed one book…and it was a graphic novel. How embarrassing…lol.

  8. vmlay permalink
    October 26, 2009 3:41 pm

    The Hunger Games will be well worth the wait — I had to wait quite a while to get it from our library as well — it was wonderful!

    http://vmlay.wordpress.com/

  9. October 26, 2009 5:52 pm

    Thanks for your cheering! :) It helped me a lot on Saturday. I’ve heard lots of good stuff for the Hunger games.

  10. October 26, 2009 9:27 pm

    I really like 1984 – now. But I had mixed feelings when I actually read it. It makes me a little sick to think of what life would be like if that actually happened.

  11. October 26, 2009 9:28 pm

    Oh, and I like being able to completely understand references to “Big Brother.”

    • October 27, 2009 10:02 pm

      I’m pretty sure my experience will be pretty similar. I’m sure once the story settles in my brain a bit I will really like it. For now, though, I’m not so sure.
      And yeah, it’s great to be able to put those terms that are used so frequently in our culture in context :)

  12. October 27, 2009 2:26 am

    Enjoy Hunger Games! I am waiting for the sequel to arrive any day now. Can not wait!

  13. historyofshe permalink
    October 27, 2009 12:34 pm

    Oo, I hope you enjoy The Hunger Games!

  14. Vicki permalink
    October 27, 2009 9:49 pm

    Guess I need to go buy Hunger Games!

  15. October 29, 2009 11:17 am

    you just gotta read The Hunger Games! it’s awesome.

I <3 Comments

