Skip to content

RaT Wrap-up

October 25, 2009

deweys-readathonbuttonMy very first read-a-thon is all over. I didn’t get all that much reading done, because I was busy giving the official ‘thon sign up Mr. Linky a work out by visiting blog after blog after blog after blog and cheering cheering cheering cheering!

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Err, the first few. I got up 2 hours after start time, and then it took a while for my brain to wake up. I’m pretty sure my first few cheers were a bit incoherent.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I saw lots and lots of Hunger Games out there, so that seemed to be a good read-a-thon pick.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope! I was pretty amazed at the efficiency of the organizers.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? See above. The organizers & hosts did a fantastic job.

5. How many books did you read? Finished one (that I only had 10 pages left in, so does that really count?), and started a second.

6. What were the names of the books you read? 1984 and In Her Shoes.

7. Which book did you enjoy most? Hmm, it’s hard to say, because I only read the very end of 1984 and the very beginning of In Her Shoes.

8. Which did you enjoy least? See above.

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Don’t stress out if you can’t visit all the blogs! Or even all the blogs assigned during each time period. I know, I know, our wonderful head-cheerleader Eva told us this right at the beginning, but that didn’t stop at least one cheerleader I know from stressing out.*

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Yes! But I think next time I will sign up as a Reader. I was getting a bit jealous of all the reading the Readers were doing and all the fantastic books they were talking about. I’d still want to be a Cheerleader, but I think next time I’ll take breaks from reading to cheer, instead of the other way around.

* My husband was at a conference all day Saturday, and I think I gave him a bit of a fright when he got home at 9 pm. I thought I was doing okay, but I finally looked at myself in the mirror when he came home, and oh boy, what I saw wasn’t pretty. My hair was everywhere (I brushed it that morning, honest) and my eyes were red and glazy and probably wider than they needed to be. I guess 14 hours in front of a computer isn’t such a great idea. He suggested I take a break, but I said, slightly panicked, “But, but, honey, I still have over 90 blogs to visit, and there’s a new mini challenge. I need to dance!”

At that point he gently lead me away from the laptop like some wild animal that you don’t want to make any sudden movements around. I’m really surprised I didn’t dream about blogging last night.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 4:51 pm

    You did a great job! Did you like In Her Shoes? I read awhile ago and remember really liking it.

  2. October 26, 2009 8:19 am

    Great job! Til the next readathon!

  3. October 26, 2009 11:15 am

    You did great. Have you recovered? i slept 11 hours last night..LOL

  4. October 26, 2009 11:55 am

    Colette – I haven’t finished it yet, but I’m liking it so far. Unfortunately, I think I would have enjoyed it more if I hadn’t already seen the movie.

    sumthinblue – Thanks! I’m already looking forward to the next one!

    diane – I didn’t stay up all night, my husband pulled me away from the computer after 14-ish hours, so I still managed to get a good night’s sleep on Saturday. But I think my eyes are still recovering from staring at my computer all day!

  5. Carol permalink
    October 26, 2009 1:09 pm

    Sounds like your husband made a good choice pulling you away.

  6. October 26, 2009 5:07 pm

    Well, I know you managed to get to me and cheer me on so thank you for that!!! And the irony is that I was thinking “maybe I’ll be a cheerleader next time instead of a reader … it might be easier and more fun.” The grass is always greener, isn’t it?

    thanks again for your support!

  7. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 26, 2009 9:04 pm

    I had such a blast at my first read-a-thon and your cheers definitely helped!

  8. October 26, 2009 10:09 pm

    Carol – Yes, it’s probably good he got home when he did.

    Jenners – lol! I guess we need to find a good balance between reading & cheerleading :)

    stacy – I had fun too! I’m glad I could give you a bit of encouragement.

  9. October 27, 2009 1:58 pm

    Isn’t that funny, I was jealous of the cheerleaders. Probably because even though I signed up as a reader, did not get much reading done!

  10. October 27, 2009 6:46 pm

    Thanks for cheering. It really is encouraging to receive comments during the read-a-thon. Hope you participate next time as well!

  11. Schatzi permalink
    November 4, 2009 4:52 am

    Thanks a bunch for the Cheerleading, even slacker Readers like me couldn’t do so well without folks like you!

I <3 Comments

