Skip to content

Monday Round Up (10.19.09)

October 19, 2009

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

I didn’t have too much of an amazing reading week. I finished Holly’s Inbox, which was lots of fun.

Right now I’m in the middle of 1984 by George Orwell, which is creeping me out, as it should.

After that I’m hoping to read In Her Shoes by Jennifer Weiner.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

Nothing arrived in the mail this week, but I did pick up some lovelies at our library’s big annual book sale on Thursday.

Let’s start with the classics:

* Persuasion by Jane Austen (Everyone keeps telling me this is better than Pride and Prejudice)

* A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickson (Just in time for Christmas! Okay, so maybe I still have a little time yet)

* Anna Karenin by Leo Tolstoy (Perhaps another Christmas read?)

Now for some books that are a little more contemporary:

* State of Fear by Michael Crichton (When I posted about Crichton for Booking Through Thursday, I realized there were a couple books by him that I haven’t read yet. This is one of them. And for 50 cents I couldn’t pass it up.)

* Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (I’ve been wanting to get into this series and I very nearly bought this at Chapters the weekend before. I was so super excited to find it at the book sale!)

* Angels by Marian Keyes (I love anything by Keyes and this one has been on my list for a while.)

Well, I’d say it was a successful shopping trip!

What are you reading this week & what books found themselves in your possession?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 10:45 am

    My whole family loves Michael Crichton’s work! Hope you do too!

  2. October 19, 2009 11:04 am

    I love 1984, maybe even more than Animal Farm. Enjoy.

    Wow! Great shopping trip. That’s a lovely haul.

  3. October 19, 2009 11:30 am

    1984, huh? Good luck with that one. I haven’t read it myself. Enjoy your reading week!

  4. October 19, 2009 11:36 am

    Love library sales! You got a great haul there. Enjoy your books.

  5. October 19, 2009 11:47 am

    I loved Anna Karenina, but it’s not exactly festive or light reading (if that’s what you like to read during the holidays). Enjoy!

  6. October 19, 2009 11:51 am

    You have some great finds there. I have been thinking about getting the Outlander series too. Gotta love library sales!

  7. October 19, 2009 12:10 pm

    Hmmm – I LOVE Pride and Prejudice, but have never read Persuasion. .. . might have to fix that.

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  8. vmlay permalink
    October 19, 2009 12:12 pm

    Library sales are the best! The Outlander series is great, I’m glad you found a copy at the sale to get you started :-)

  9. vmlay permalink
    October 19, 2009 12:12 pm

    Oops, forgot to leave a link to my reading list:

    http://vmlay.wordpress.com/

  10. October 19, 2009 12:31 pm

    bermudaonion – Crichton-fandom seems to be a family thing….both my dad and sister are also big fans.

    Tam – I’m enjoying 1984 more than I thought I would, although it took a little while to really get into it.

    Lisa (Books and Cooks) – This is my first time reading it, and is definitely a change of pace from Holly’s Inbox! But I am enjoying it.

    Kristen – If it was up to me, I would have gone to every day of the sale!

    kim – Since I get time off at Christmas, I like reading books that I can really get in to. Thanks for the heads up, though!

    Beth(bookaholicmom) – There’s so much buzz around this series, I couldn’t couldn’t ignore it any longer! Although it might be a while before I actually get to it.

    Wendi B – I really liked P&P, and hearing that Persuasion is even better makes me very excited to read it!

    vmlay – I was so surprised to find it at the sale, I actually gasped when I saw it!

  11. October 19, 2009 2:00 pm

    “In Her Shoes” was a fabulous read! Thanks for visiting my blog.

  12. October 19, 2009 5:10 pm

    Thanks for visiting :) and for admitting you’re a Jane Austen newbie like me. I’ll have to try Persuasion now.

    I love Jennifer Weiner, but I haven’t yet read In Her Shoes. Certain Girls was fun and crazy. I’m sure it’ll be great!

  13. October 19, 2009 5:28 pm

    Ooh so glad you got OUTLANDER. Hopefully you’re another fan in the making :-D

  14. October 19, 2009 5:33 pm

    I love your Soundtrack Saturdays feature, and now I’ve discovered a great song that makes me want to read Holly’s Inbox.

  15. October 19, 2009 6:04 pm

    I really liked 1984 and I loved In Her Shoes. It was so much better than the movie.

    I’m addicted to library book sales but my entire county’s library system doesn’t do them. I look online and drive all over the state to get to them. If my town library had one I might end up living there the whole weekend.

  16. October 19, 2009 6:07 pm

    Persuasion is a good one! Here is mine

  17. October 19, 2009 6:18 pm

    So glad you enjoyed Holly’s Inbox!

  18. October 19, 2009 7:54 pm

    I loved a Christmas Carol. We read it last year as a book club for our December read. Really fun!

  19. October 20, 2009 2:42 am

    Holly’s Inbox is on my wishlist, glad you enjoyed it. I liked Persuasion and you are in for a treat with Outlander. I love the whole series! Have a great reading week :-)

  20. October 20, 2009 7:01 am

    right now…The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – took a couple of chapters to pull me in, but I think I’m hooked!

  21. October 20, 2009 8:02 am

    I have been eying Holly’s Inbox at the book store but have yet to make that final move of buying it.

    Your library buys are fantastic. I wish I could walk away from a sale at my library with such wonderful reads.

    I sincerely hope that you absolutely enjoy the reading of Outlander. I am a huge fan of Diana Gabaldon, Her writing truly is superb.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Happy Reading!

  22. October 20, 2009 1:48 pm

    laurelrainsnow – I keep hearing good things about it – I’m looking forward to actually getting in to it!

    Lynne – I’ve never read anything by Jennifer Weiner. I’ve wanted to for quite a while, but for some reason I’ve been putting it off. Will do so no longer!

    Allison – I really hope I like it too. It’s been a while since I’ve been really into a really good series.

    Alissa – Thank you!! I love sharing music, and if I can pair it with books, even better!

    Jennifer – I’m glad to hear it’s better than the movie! I saw the movie on TV a while ago, and thought it was just okay. Our library system only has sales like this once a year. I’m already looking forward to next year!

    Bluestocking – I keep hearing it’s really good!

    J. Kaye – It was one of the most fun books I’ve read in a long time!

    Bookjourney – It would make a great Book Club book! I really hope I actually get time to read it this Christmas.

    Teddyree – I hope you enjoy Holly’s Inbox when you finally get a copy!

    Ellie – I haven’t read that one – glad that you’re enjoying it :)

    Deanna/ibeeeg – I went into the sale with high expectations, but pretty much expected to be slightly disappointed. Now my expectations for next year’s sale is going to be even higher :)

  23. October 21, 2009 11:27 am

    I really want to read In Her Shoes! I absolutely adored the movie and had no idea it was a book until I saw it in a used book store, I should have grabbed it then.

    I also want to read Holly’s Inbox, it sounds like a lot of fun.

  24. Schatzi permalink
    October 21, 2009 5:43 pm

    Persuasion really is amazing, and is probably my favorite Austen. (Northanger Abbey would be may fave lighter Austen.) It’s absolutely beautiful and moving.

    The Outlander books are pretty fun–well, the first three are. They’ve been getting a bit dull and irritating lately. But you’ll have a blast with Outlander.

I <3 Comments

