Skip to content

Read-a-Thon!

October 18, 2009

deweys-readathonbuttonThere’s a big event coming up next Saturday that one or two of you may have heard of – it’s Dewey’s 24hr Read-a-Thon! This will be my first read-a-thon, and I’m very much looking forward to it.

What’s the 24hr Read-a-Thon all about? Well, you read. For 24 hours. Interspersed with some blogging, giveaways, challenges, and general merriment. I considered (briefly) joining in to read for the whole time, but no, or even very little, sleep makes for one very grumpy Alita, and I can’t do that to my husband, it just wouldn’t be fair. Luckily, the wonderful organizers over at the read-a-thon has given us options. You can sign up as a Reader and/or a Cheerleader. So I will be participating as an official Cheerleader and an unofficial Reader (because really, I’m still going to do some reading in that 24 hours).

I have some questions about being a cheerleader and could really use some advice from the pros. For those who have been cheerleaders in the past, do you have any suggestions for keeping up with all the Readers? For those who have been Readers, what can I do to keep you motivated?

If you want to participate in the Read-a-Thon, the sign up post is right about here.

Also, Michelle at GalleySmith.com is hosting a slumber party during the Read-a-Thon, which looks like it will be a bunch of fun!

Edit: Unfortunately the slumber party has been canceled.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison permalink
    October 18, 2009 7:43 am

    Someday I will attempt this! I just can’t imagine being able to do it now.. I’m already too exhausted from a toddler…

  2. inthemainstream permalink
    October 18, 2009 10:03 am

    I’ll have to keep this event in mind for a time when I don’t already lose too much sleep on the regular.

  3. October 19, 2009 9:14 am

    I’m a cheer leader (just for today)

    Hey, Hey
    Hey hey are you ready?(clap, clap)
    Hey, Hey
    Hey hey are you ready?(clap, clap)

    Go! readers!

    Good Luck with the Challenge

    If you want to wander down my road I’m home.

  4. Carol permalink
    October 21, 2009 12:19 pm

    This is my first Read-a-Thon, too. I’m reading, and my husband’s not thrilled, but it’s just 24 hours. He’ll live.

  5. October 21, 2009 4:09 pm

    Sis Boom Rah!!! I am attempting this also as a reader. Should be quite a fun filled 24 hours!

I <3 Comments

