Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturdays – 1984 & Holly’s Inbox

October 17, 2009

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

It’s double feature day! I decided to pick songs for two books from the past week. One I’m reading right now and the other I finished a couple days ago.

Part 1!

Current Read: 1984 by George Orwell

Once Sentence Summary: Imagine a society in which everything you say, do, and think is monitored by the government, and one little slip up not only means you vanish, it means you never existed.

Soundtrack Song: “Spies” by Coldplay, from the album Parachutes (fun fact: this is still my most favourite Coldplay album)

Why I chose this song: Coldplay is pretty good at making some moody songs, and this one fits 1984 perfectly. This book is all about keeping your actions, comments, and thoughts in check, because there are spies everywhere!

I awake to see that no one is free
We’re all fugitives
Look at the way we live
Down here I cannot sleep from fear no
I said, “Which way do I turn?”
Oh I forget everything I learn

Part 2!

Current Read: Holly’s Inbox by Holly Denham (err…finished a couple days ago, actually)

Once Sentence Summary: The life Holly as told through the emails in her inbox.

Soundtrack Song: “All The Pretty Girls” by fun., from the album Aim and Ignite (fun fact: my most favourite album of the year, hands down)

Why I chose this song: Easy. Holly’s Inbox was fun. What better song to go with it than one by a band called fun.? I dare you to listen to this and not tap a toe even once.

What song would you pick for either of these songs, or the book you’re current reading?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 12:49 pm

    What a clever idea! I love, love, love Coldplay. I think for every occasion, Coldplay always has a song to compliment it! My favorite album is A Rush of Blood to the Head.

    • October 18, 2009 9:57 pm

      Coldplay is great for soundtrack moments. A Rush of Blood is also a great album, and probably my second favourite, although those songs are some of my absolute favourite live :)

  2. October 17, 2009 5:36 pm

    What a cool meme idea! I just don’t think I would know what to put down for the soundtrack.. I may have to start making notes. :)

    • October 18, 2009 9:59 pm

      It’s easy to find songs for some books, while others can be a bit trickier. But it’s always fun when you do find songs that have similar themes to whatever you’re reading!

  3. November 5, 2009 12:41 pm

    I adore Coldplay. Excellent choice.

I <3 Comments

