Skip to content

Friday Firsts (10.16.09)

October 16, 2009
tags:

The first line can make or break a reader’s interest. Just how well did the author pull you in to the story with their first sentence? To participate in this weekly book meme is extremely easy. Head to Well-Read Reviews for full details.

Here is the first line from Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell.

It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.

I’ll be honest, my first thought when I read that was “13? Clocks only go to 12.” Okay, so maybe in 1984 they’re using a 24 hr clock, not a 12 hr one. Either way, it made me think and kept me reading. As a first line, I like it. It’s straight to the point and sets up the opening scene of  Nineteen Eighty-Four perfectly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 16, 2009 3:30 pm

    oh my gosh. i read this book a year or so ago and i really liked it. i don’t know if i can read it again though–it was really heavy. one of the really interesting things that stuck out to me in the story was the way the people in control try to alter language…it’s amazing

I <3 Comments

