Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday (10.15.09)

October 15, 2009
tags:

This week’s BTT topic has to do with weeding out books from your library:

btt2We’re moving in a couple weeks (the first time since I was 9 years old), and I’ve been going through my library of 3000+ books, choosing the books that I could bear to part with and NOT have to pack to move. Which made me wonder…

When’s the last time you weeded out your library? Do you regularly keep it pared down to your reading essentials? Or does it blossom into something out of control the minute you turn your back, like a garden after a Spring rain?

Or do you simply not get rid of books? At all? (This would have described me for most of my life, by the way.)
And–when you DO weed out books from your collection (assuming that you do) …what do you do with them? Throw them away (gasp)? Donate them to a charity or used bookstore?  SELL them to a used bookstore? Trade them on Paperback Book Swap or some other exchange program?

I only recently rediscovered my love of books, so unfortunately most of my favourite books from when I was younger are long gone. However, even the casual reader can collect a good number of books over the years. Four years ago I moved four times in one year. Not recommended. What did I do with most of the books I owned? Packed them up in boxes and dragged those boxes from move to move. Many of them were left behind on my last move a year ago and are sitting in my parents’ garage, unopened for the last four and a half years. I think I went through most of those boxes and took out the good stuff, so I’m pretty sure all that’s left are text books. Anyone want some overly highlighted sociology books?

Since rediscovering how wonderful books are, I’ve started hoarding. Weeding will most likely be an issue soon since we have a small bookcase and my husband is strongly opposed to clutter. I’m pretty sure the only solution is to get a bigger bookcase.

I’m going to a big used book sale at the main branch of our city library after work today, so the need to weed may come sooner rather than later. In the future, weeded books will probably be donated to this sale.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 12:23 pm

    I have an overflow bookcase in the basement and even that has to be emptied now and then. My book club friends are using the library more and more. I’m thinking about taking the leap to a Kindle soon, not only to ease the book clutter problem but so I can blow up the text so I can see it!

    • October 15, 2009 12:32 pm

      I use the library a lot, which is probably why I’ve been able to keep my book numbers under control. I’m not 100% sold on Kindle yet (or similar devices), but it sure would help in reducing book clutter!

  2. October 15, 2009 12:41 pm

    yeah..the hombre hates clutter too. Damn them both. They’re just jealous that we’re reading more than paying attention to them. Men are just big babies. I have a few bookcases but I do the container thing instead. You fit more and at least you can stack the containers (albeit, as long as they’re not too heavy) :) Plus they’re outta sight so the hombre will shut up.

  3. October 15, 2009 2:12 pm

    Book clutter is the only kind of clutter I can put up with. I’m lucky because my husband tends to hoard books, too, although maybe not as much as I do. But at least he understands my need to accumulate. Most of the time, anyway.

  4. October 15, 2009 7:07 pm

    Can’t wait to see what you got at the book fair – hopefully lots of goodies! :)

  5. October 17, 2009 5:58 am

    A bigger bookcase is truly the only solution. Isn’t it amazing the number of books you can collect in a very short amount of time?

  6. Schatzi permalink
    October 19, 2009 12:12 am

    Four times in one year? Dang, girl! You beat even me!

I <3 Comments

