Skip to content

Book #36 – Holly’s Inbox (final thoughts)

October 14, 2009

hollys-inboxAlmost exactly one year ago today, I came across a little website called Holly’s Inbox. It was an inbox, with email after email chronicling Holly’ Denham’s start as receptionist at a corporate bank in London. I thought I would take a little peak and then continue on with my day. But I couldn’t stop. I was hooked. I think I read all the emails in about two days. That’s three months worth of emails. Ever since then I’ve been wanting to read the book, but for some reason it took its sweet time making its way across the Atlantic.

When I finally had it in my hands, I was a little bit worried. Could an internet obsession really translate to a book, and do it well? Plus, this thing is so freaking big! 665 pages! I gasped when the librarian heaved it off the ‘hold’ shelf. Could a bunch of emails keep my interest for over 600 pages?

Turns out they can. I had absolutely nothing to worry about, because this book is so much fun! So. Much. Fun. I was flipping through it like nobody’s business. I even read in the rain today, huddled as much as possible under a dry spot, while waiting for the bus.

Just like the website, Holly’s Inbox is told through emails only. We meet Holly on the first day of her new reception job and we follow her emails, the good and the bad, for the next 5 months. Along the way we learn about office politics (read: gossip), about her two best friends, her crazy family, and how Holly came to work in reception. Some of my favourite emails were those from her Granny, who could give Grandma Mazur a run for her money in the crazy/lovable Granny department.

This book is light and fun and totally addictive. Did I mention it was fun? Because, really, it is.

Apparently the sequel is out in the UK already, and it sounds like it might be even better than the first. When will you be coming back to Canada, Holly???

My rating: 8.5/10

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 7:32 am

    I loved Holly’s Inbox, and I’m excited to see that there’s a sequel!

    • October 15, 2009 10:14 am

      I’m so excited about the sequel. Holly definitely left us hanging with a few things, so I’m guessing the sequel picks up on those story lines.

  2. October 15, 2009 7:33 am

    I am a little bummed that the only copy of this book in the library system is at a library we can’t get it from. I guess I’ll have to wait for someone to decide it sounds like a good present for me. ;)

    I found the site the other day when I was looking for more about the book after I read your teaser, but I haven’t had much time to look at it yet, I guess I’ll have to spread it out while I wait for the book.

    I am very intrigued by the grandma comparison!

    • October 15, 2009 10:22 am

      The website is very similar (identical maybe?) to the first half of the book. Definitely read the website now if you think it’ll be a while before you can get a copy of the book.

      I’d like to see if you really can spread it out ;) I think that was my plan, too, when I found it.

  3. October 15, 2009 4:50 pm

    I can’t wait to get through all the emails. I plan on working on some more tonight :) After the emails, the book is definitely on my list. So far, I like Granny too. The email about someone peeking in the window made me laugh out loud. I bet she and Grandma Mazur would be peas in a pod!

    • October 15, 2009 9:05 pm

      I’m guessing they would probably be partners in crime :)

      Enjoy the emails :)

  4. October 15, 2009 10:00 pm

    I’m waiting for the sequel, too – let’s hope it’s available for us in North American soon!

  5. mountainsofbooks permalink
    October 16, 2009 6:04 pm

    I’ve stopped by that site a few times and had to stop myself knowing I’d get sucked in! Now, I’m going to have to track down that book!

  6. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 16, 2009 9:25 pm

    Everyone seems to love this book. Loved your shout out to Grandma Mazur!

  7. October 18, 2009 8:00 am

    This sounds like fun! Unfortunately it’s checked out of my library at the moment, but I’m hoping I can get my hands on it soon. :)

  8. October 18, 2009 10:15 pm

    Carrie K – I’m going to be checking my library often for news of its touch down in North America!

    mountainsofbooks – It’s so hard not to get sucked in to the website. I admire your willpower if you’re able to keep yourself from reading all the emails at once :)

    stacybuckeye – I don’t think anyone could beat Grandma Mazur in the Eccentric Granny category, but Holly’s Granny sure comes close!

    Jenny – Which reminds me, I should probably get my copy back to the library!!

I <3 Comments

