Skip to content

Monday Round Up (10.12.09)

October 12, 2009

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

This week I finished Pride and Prejudice and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Two great classics.

And then I moved far away from classics and started Holly’s Inbox by Holly Denham, which is fun and giggle-inducing.

library-lootLibrary Loot is hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I had another fun little trip to the library on Saturday.

I picked up Holly’s Inbox, which I had decided a week back that I just couldn’t wait for and had put it on hold. I may have ran to the library right after I received the email that it had arrived.

I also found Breakfast at Tiffany’s, the movie. Unfortunately all the DVD versions were out, so I picked it up in VHS. I only hope my VHS player doesn’t try to munch on it like it did to Jane Eyre. Errr….

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

I was so very excited when I received According to Jane by Marilyn Brant. I won a signed manuscript of the book from Lydia at NovelWhore’s Blog. After a few phone calls and rearrangements with FedEx, I was happily tearing into the package as I walked down the street. Thanks Lydia!

All right, now I’m off to eat not one, but two Thanksgiving dinners. And I haven’t quite yet recovered from the one yesterday. That’s right, 3 Thanksgiving dinners in 2 days. I will be rolling to work tomorrow. Yum :)

HAPPY THANKSGIVING to all my fellow Canadian bloggers!!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 8:01 am

    Here is my version of Mailbox Monday: http://fredasvoice.blogspot.com/2009/10/media-monday_12.html

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  2. October 12, 2009 9:35 am

    I can’t wait to see what you think of According to Jane! Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. October 12, 2009 9:43 am

    I’m so glad I stopped here. I’ve got a coupon (that expires today) from Borders. I’m going to pick up Holly’s Inbox. I’ve been meaning to read it and I know my daughters will like it. Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. October 12, 2009 11:02 am

    ooh! holly’s inbox is so fun! good job on the classics–you must feel quite accomplished, no? :)
    happy t-day to you and all the other canadian bloggers!

    • October 13, 2009 1:32 pm

      Oh yes, quite accomplished. I needed to read something silly after them, you know, just to make sure I know my place ;)

  5. October 12, 2009 11:47 am

    Happy Thanksgiving. You’ve got some great books on your list and I hope the VCR behaves since Breakfast at Tiffany’s is a wonderful movie.

  6. October 12, 2009 12:10 pm

    I like to jump around in genres like that…though I haven’t been doing so lately!

  7. October 12, 2009 12:30 pm

    I adore the classics and you picked excellent ones. Mine is here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/10/what-are-you-reading-monday_12.html

  8. October 12, 2009 12:35 pm

    I miss celebrating the Canadian Thanksgiving-enjoy your turkey.

  9. October 12, 2009 1:14 pm

    Wow, you had two great reads last week. I really enjoyed both those books.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  10. vmlay permalink
    October 12, 2009 4:42 pm

    I’ll be curious to see what you think about Holly’s Inbox — I’ve been debating about that one :-)

    My list is here:
    http://vmlay.wordpress.com/

  11. October 12, 2009 8:01 pm

    I am now officially hungry for Thanksgiving. I will be thinking about it for over a month!!!
    Giggle inducing books are wonderful.
    You finished some great books and looks like you have some more to enjoy. Have fun!

  12. October 14, 2009 4:34 am

    I always forget to look for DVDs at the library. I really should because there are no fees, unlike going to the video rental shop.

  13. October 15, 2009 4:39 am

    lol @ running to your library for a hold! I’ve totally done that. :D

  14. October 15, 2009 5:29 am

    Rolling to work LOL!!! I’m almost done with Holly’s Inbox..very funny book!

  15. October 19, 2009 10:08 am

    Congrats on winning the signed manuscript: According to Jane by Marilyn Brant. Happy reading.

  16. October 19, 2009 11:58 am

    I just sent Holly’s Inbox to my daughter for her birthday. Glad to hear you’re enjoying it : )

  17. October 19, 2009 12:08 pm

    Ohhh – I’ve been wanting to pick up a copy of Holly’s Inbox – it sounds like a great book.

    :) Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

I <3 Comments

