Skip to content

Friday Firsts (10.09.09)

October 9, 2009
tags:

The first line can make or break a reader’s interest. Just how well did the author pull you in to the story with their first sentence? To participate in this weekly book meme is extremely easy. Head to Well-Read Reviews for full details.

My quote today is from Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote.

I am always drawn back to the places where I have lived, the houses and their neighborhoods.

I love this as a first sentence. There’s a familiarity there that draws you in. Plus, the joy of knowing you are at the beginning of a fantastic little classic. It’s always fun to read famous quotes in context, to know what comes before, or in this case, after them. What comes after this one? A story of meeting Ms. Holly Golightly, of course.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 11:08 am

    One of my fave old movies!!!

  2. October 9, 2009 11:18 am

    That first sentence is great. It’s very nostalgic and I like that!

  3. October 9, 2009 3:11 pm

    That is a great first sentence! I’ve only ever read In Cold Blood by Capote, but Breakfast at Tiffanys is one of those books I’m always meaning to read… let me know how you like it!

  4. October 9, 2009 4:42 pm

    freda mans – I only saw this movie for the first time a couple years ago, but I liked it lots!

    Allison – I love that this sentence sets the tone of the book right away and that the story flows so naturally from it. If you haven’t read this yet, you really should!

    Kate – This is my first Capote. I’m not so sure yet about In Cold Blood, but maybe one day I’ll read it.

  5. October 9, 2009 8:24 pm

    i love breakfast at tiffany’s! i read it a while ago but i remember it being so carefree and fun. holly golightly is one awesome chick. in cold blood–completely opposite book :) it’s one of my friend’s favorites and i promised her i would read it one day…

  6. October 10, 2009 5:36 pm

    This is one of those books where I enjoyed the movie and always meant to pick it up, but never got around to it for some reason.

    Not a bad first sentence at all. Sounds sort of homey and comforting.

  7. October 11, 2009 3:11 pm

    Sarah – It’s such a fun book! I imagine it’s much different than In Cold Blood. That one has never yet made it on to my to-read list.

    Alexia – Pick it up next time you think of it! It’s only about 100 pages, so it’s not going to take up a lot of your reading time, but I think you’ll enjoy it.

I <3 Comments

