Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday (10.08.09)

October 8, 2009
tags:

Barbara H suggested this week’s BTT topic:

btt2I was wanting to try a certain author and wished I knew someone who had read her works so I could get a recommendation when it occurred to me that having a “YOU ask the question” Booking Through Thursday might be fun. Each participant could ask a question they’ve wanted to discuss with other readers. Perhaps, like me, you’d like a recommendation of a certain author’s best work, or perhaps you LOVE a certain genre or series but no one else you know does and you’d just like to discuss it with someone. Or perhaps you want to try a new genre and would like recommendations from seasoned readers.

It would help if everyone put some idea of the question or topic in their response comment here rather than just saying, “My post is up” so that those who can’t get around to everyone can see what the topics are and get to those which most interest them

This is an interesting twist to BTT!

Today I want to talk about an author who I haven’t read in a while, but who united my dad, sister, and myself through the love of this books. The man is Michael Crichton.

sphereHis books were about as mass-market as they come, but, they were almost the only books I read as a teenager. My two favourite by far are Sphere (so much better than the movie!) and Timeline (I don’t even want to talk about this movie…it was so bad I wanted to cry when I saw it). I think what I liked most about his books is how he mixed fact with fiction to the point where the line between the two was so blurred, it almost wasn’t there at all. Plus, they were so entertaining it’s no wonder most of them have been turned into movies.

Sadly Mr. Crichton passed away last year of cancer, which he had kept secret his entire illness. However, two more books by him are still to be published. One will be coming out next month (Pirate Latitudes) and the other, which is unfinished and untitled, is set to come out sometime next year.

Any other closet-Crichton fans out there?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 9:04 pm

    I’ve read a few, the sphere, the andromeda strain, coma, congo, jurassic park–and I was a big fan of ER, I was so sad when it went off the air. I had no idea he had died. He was a great story teller. how do you feel about e-readers?

  2. October 9, 2009 8:59 am

    Twilight united my mom and I. I used to think we had nothing in common…then along came Twilight :)

    I really liked Congo. The movie was awful, but the book was interesting.

  3. October 9, 2009 4:35 pm

    Kaye – I always forget that he was involved with ER! He was a great story teller indeed.

    Tracie Yule – I don’t think I ever saw Congo, but I did like the book. So many of his books were made into movies, but even of the ones that were good, the books were all so much better!

  4. October 11, 2009 1:44 pm

    I love Crichton. Sphere was the one that blew my 14 year old, science fiction loving mind. I really enjoyed his last two novels, State of Fear and Next. Next was almost as mind blowing as Sphere.

    • October 11, 2009 2:35 pm

      You know, I don’t think I’ve read Next. I remember seeing it at my parents’ house, but for some reason haven’t read it. Must rectify that soon!

  5. Schatzi permalink
    October 15, 2009 5:26 am

    I read a bunch of Crichton back in intermediate school–and I still re-read Jurassic Park from time to time. His books are a lot of fun–if you don’t take them too seriously.

    My fondness for him came in handy at a trivia night when we had to list all his novels that were adapted into films. I won the round, handily!

I <3 Comments

