Skip to content

Monday x3!

October 5, 2009

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

I’m still working away at Pride and Prejudice. It’s one of those books that you need to sit down and focus on, and unfortunately I didn’t get enough opportunities to do that this week.

I’m a one-book-at-a-time kind of girl, but this week I broke that rule by starting Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote.

library-lootLibrary Loot is hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

On Saturday I needed to return the Jane Eyre tapes, and although my TBR stack was definitely not in any need of increase, who can resist taking a look at a few books?

As mentioned, I found Breakfast at Tiffany’s, which also includes three short stories. Very excited about this one! So much that I started reading it in the park outside the library.

I also picked up In Her Shoes by Jennifer Weiner. I haven’t read anything by Weiner before, and had been wanted to read this one for a while. Now seemed as good a time as any.

Yesterday I visited the library known as my Dad’s bookshelves. All his books are numbered and catalogued, so it counts. From this visit came 1984 by George Orwell, which will be part of my Back to School Challenge.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

I had one book arrive in the mail this week – Off Season by Anne Rivers Siddons. This was my very first contest win, courtesy of Stacy at Stacy’s Books.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 9:07 am

    Oh I like 1984! Enjoy!

  2. October 5, 2009 9:07 am

    Congrats on your contest win – isn’t it fun to win great books? :)

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  3. October 5, 2009 9:18 am

    Looks like you’re revisiting the classics — 1984, Breakfast at Tiffany’s — they’re both truly wonderful books.

  4. October 5, 2009 9:41 am

    I havent read 1984. I should

  5. October 5, 2009 11:12 am

    Jennifer – Thanks, I hope I do! I don’t know how I got away with not reading it until now.

    Wendi B – Thank you! Yes, it’s so fun :)

    Kim V – They’re all books I’ve been wanting to read for quite a while, so I just decided there’s no time like the present to read a classic, or two, or three…

    Bookjourney – I’ve been saying that for years lol! Yes, you should read it :)

  6. October 5, 2009 11:20 am

    ::sigh:: Pride and Prejudice ::sigh:: I do so love that book. :-)

  7. vmlay permalink
    October 5, 2009 1:15 pm

    I love Pride and Prejudice — I finished not too long ago and fun YA book called Prada and Prejudice which was a really fun read!

  8. vmlay permalink
    October 5, 2009 1:15 pm

    Forget to add the link for my list:

    http://vmlay.wordpress.com/

  9. October 5, 2009 1:54 pm

    “In Her Shoes” was a great read! I loved the movie, too.

  10. October 5, 2009 2:17 pm

    Totally understand….sometimes life gets in the way of reading.

  11. October 5, 2009 5:47 pm

    I read In Her Shoes a couple of years ago on a plane. I thought it was good!

  12. inthemainstream permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:07 pm

    BaT and IHS are two of my favorite books ever. 1984 is one of my least. So, really excited for you to read the first two!

  13. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 6, 2009 9:01 am

    I’m so glad that I was able to givce you your first win! I hope to like Breakfast at Tiffany’s. It was my first Capote and I really liked it.

I <3 Comments

