Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturdays – Pride and Prejudice

October 3, 2009
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

I very nearly skipped this week because, I mean, it’s Pride and Prejudice! What kind of song do you pick for that? But, seeing as I joined Blogtoberfest yesterday and committed to posting at least once a day this month, my hands are tied. But in a good way. Err..

Anyway, I usually pick a song that I think captures the feel of the book I’m currently reading. With this one, I decided to go with something more authentic to the time period.

Current Read: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Once Sentence Summary: Elizabeth Bennet deals with love, marriage, social class in the 1790’s, without the intrusion of zombies.

Soundtrack Song: Michael Turner’s Waltz

Why I chose this song: Although named Michael Turner’s Waltz, this tune was actually composed by Mozart as Waltz in G in 1788. It’s not hard to picture Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth provoking each other as civilly as possible while dancing to this beautiful song.

What about you? What song with you pick for P&P, or the book you are currently reading?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 2:17 pm

    How lovely – I’m complete rubbish at playing guitar, but I love listening to melodies played on acoustic guitars.

  2. October 4, 2009 9:41 pm

    I think this song fits the story perfectly. I have no imagination. I tried to think of a song but could not come up with one so I will just say ditto to your choice.
    By the way, I have something for you: http://booktumbling.com/2009/10/04/a-few-more-awards/

I <3 Comments

