Skip to content

Friday Firsts (10.02.09)

October 2, 2009
tags:

The first line can make or break a reader’s interest. Just how well did the author pull you in to the story with their first sentence? To participate in this weekly book meme is extremely easy. Head to Well-Read Reviews for full details.

I missed Friday Firsts last week, but I’m back this week with a classic. Here’s the first line from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.

Ha! How could you not want to continue reading with an opener like that?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 11:32 am

    One of the most famous first lines ever! I hope you enjoy it.

  2. October 2, 2009 11:33 am

    No fair. Are you really reading that this week? I was planning on posting the opening to Pride and Prejudice on my blog this month. Best Opening Passage Nominee #??.

    • October 2, 2009 12:04 pm

      Yes, I am reading it! And for the very first time :)

      Can there be too many P&P posts? I’m thinking no.

  3. October 2, 2009 12:01 pm

    I am in the mood for this one one now ; ).

    Here’s mine:

    http://thebookresort.blogspot.com/2009/10/friday-firsts.html#atssh-myspace

  4. Schatzi permalink
    October 2, 2009 3:56 pm

    One of the best opening lines of all time! <3 P&P

  5. October 2, 2009 3:57 pm

    LOL I would like to know who came to that assumption? You think he would just want.. wives? :)

    I love that book!

  6. October 2, 2009 5:32 pm

    A classic opening line! Love it! :)

I <3 Comments

