Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday (10.01.09)

October 1, 2009
tags:

Interesting question today for BTT: Two-thirds of Brits have lied about reading books they haven’t. Have you? Why? What book?

We’re starting off October with some major confessions, or maybe not so major. I haven’t lied about reading books I haven’t actually read. But, I do sometimes count books that I read in High School English class that I don’t really remember, or that I think I only read portions of (ie. Heart of Darkness). I don’t know if this counts as lying, because for the most part I did read the books. But even back then I would admit that I wasn’t really into them and skimmed portions. It’s really too bad, because I now realize that some of the books I was forced to read back then were actually really good ones, like To Kill a Mocking Bird, Lord of the Flies, or Death of a Salesman.

So why do I count these books as read when I don’t really remember them? This is where the big confession comes – probably because I don’t really want to read them again. Gasp!

Okay, now it’s your turn for confession time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 10:37 am

    LOL! I read a lot of books in highschool and college that I don’t want to read again either :) nice answer. If you want to wander down my road I’m home.

  2. October 1, 2009 10:45 am

    Oh totally, I haven’t lied saying I’ve read a book I haven’t but I do count books I’ve read years and years ago that I may not remember. Interesting post!

  3. October 1, 2009 4:43 pm

    I’ve only done it once. Here is mine

  4. October 1, 2009 10:37 pm

    Haha we are the same…I don’t remember what I read in school time anymore

  5. October 2, 2009 12:31 am

    Oh god, Heart of Darkness was a shocker in high school and first year uni and, oddly enough, I have multiple copies of it! I’m like you, I’ve read part of it – so technically, I have ‘read’ it…

  6. October 2, 2009 6:26 am

    I don’t think that counts as lying. To Kill a Mockingbird is well worth a reread, more so than the others (to me!) – it’s beautifully written and beautifully structured. Harper Lee may have only had the one book in her, but it’s a superb one. :)

  7. October 2, 2009 8:08 am

    I’m in a similar boat! There are quite a few “classics” I read in school that I do count as having read, but can’t really remember much about them. Someday I want to go back and read them with a fresh set of eyes, I think — especially To Kill A Mockingbird, which I remember loving! — but there are so many other books to get through between now and then! It’s okay :)

  8. readwhatyouknow permalink
    October 4, 2009 6:02 pm

    I think it’s acceptable to say that you read something even if you don’t remember. You’re not lying at all in that area. Also, I think that everyone says that they read the books they read in high school. Our teacher only assigned us parts of “Les Miserables,” but I know that my classmates still say they read it. (I was a masochist and did read it in its entirety!)

    There’s just too many books to do a re-read of a book you already don’t remember!

I <3 Comments

