Skip to content

It’s Monday! What are you reading? (09.28.09)

September 27, 2009

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

I was sick all week, so I thought I’d get lots of reading done, but mostly I watched lots of Gilmore Girls, The Big Bang Theory, and Being Erica.

I did manage to get some reading in before and after the worst part of it. I finally finished The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. Great book, but long!

I also read The Lit Report by Sarah N. Harvey, which was an enjoyable light read.

Yesterday I started Pride and Prejudice, so that’s where I’m at right now.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 3:15 am

    I love the Big Bang Theory.
    I hope you enjoy Pride and Prejudice.
    Happy reading! :)

  2. inthemainstream permalink
    September 28, 2009 3:27 am

    I’m trudging through the last portion of Ulysses for my lit class. I’ve got Tracy Kidder’s latest up for review, and Jeanette Winterson’s Weight on my iPod (again. Can’t get over this book).

    Somehow have never managed to read Pride and Prejudice. Should get on that.

  3. September 28, 2009 4:36 am

    I am trying to win a copy of the Historian, if I fail to win one, it is my next purchase. I adore P&P. I re-read it all the time. Happy reading. My MOnday is here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/09/what-are-you-reading-monday_28.html

  4. September 28, 2009 6:10 am

    I have to admit that I’ve had ‘The Historian’ sitting on my shelf for quite a long time. Its size is daunting. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

  5. September 28, 2009 6:32 am

    I’ve seen similar comments about The Historian – good but long. Hope you enjoy P&P.

  6. September 28, 2009 7:49 am

    I always think when I’m sick that I can rest and read but somehow it just takes to much mental power and I end up watching tv too! I hope you enjoy Pride and Prejudice! I really liked it and would love to read it again someday. I remember watching the 6-hour version over and over again when I was in high school and it’s very close to the book.

    This weekend I finished The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman.

  7. September 28, 2009 9:43 am

    Maree – I’ve become hooked on The Big Bang Theory lately and usually watch more episodes in one sitting than I probably should ;)

    inthemainstream – Ulysses is one I can’t even bring myself to consider reading. Maybe one day, if I’m feeling really courageous. I haven’t read Weight, but it sound really good.

    Jennifer – Good luck with The Historian contest! It’s definitely one you need to read.

    karen (morsecode on Ravelry) – I don’t think I ever really got over the size, even while I was reading it, but it’s definitely worth the effort. I recommend taking it off the shelf :)

    Mary – Thanks! I didn’t make too much progress in P&P this weekend, but I am really enjoying it so far.

    Ellie – You’re right, reading requires too much mental power when you’re sick. I just read your review on The Zookeeper’s Wife. It looks really good.

  8. September 28, 2009 11:23 am

    I am sorry you were not feeling well! I never read or do a lot of ANYTHING when I am sick so it looks like you did pretty well, regardless.

    Feel better!

    • September 28, 2009 12:04 pm

      I’m feeling much better and have re-entered the real world :) Thanks!

  9. September 28, 2009 11:42 am

    I always assume that being sick means I’ll read more than I do. I suspect that all energy must be focused on getting better rather than using brain power on reading. Hope you’re feeling much recovered by now.

    Anyway, The Lit Report sounds interesting and I’ve not heard of it before. Enjoy delving into P&P. I wish I could read it for the first time again. :-)

    • September 28, 2009 12:13 pm

      I worked from home while I was sick, so unfortunately any extra brain power had to go to that and I had nothing left over for reading. Sadness, indeed.

      The Lit Report was a great way to decompress after The Historian. If you come across it, it’s a good little read.

  10. vmlay permalink
    September 28, 2009 12:24 pm

    I really liked The Historian even though some of my friends didn’t care for it much.

    I hope you are feeling better!!

  11. September 28, 2009 2:49 pm

    I want to read The Historian one day. Enjoy Pride and Prejudice and I hope you’re feeling better.

    My What Are You Reading Monday’s Post.

  12. September 28, 2009 4:07 pm

    I am so-so sorry you were sick. Are you feeling back to normal yet?

  13. September 28, 2009 6:23 pm

    vmlay – I’m glad you liked it. It seems to be one of those books that people either really like or really don’t.

    Alaine Bucknall – Thanks! The Historian is definitely a book that needs to be committed to, but I highly recommend it!

    J. Kaye – Pretty much back to normal and ready to tackle my TBR pile again :)

  14. September 28, 2009 7:45 pm

    I will be tackling The Historian soon. Hope you enjoy P&P.

    Here’s what I am reading this week.

    • September 28, 2009 8:29 pm

      ‘Tackling’ is a good way of putting it. I hope you enjoy it!

  15. September 29, 2009 8:18 am

    Happy reading this week! :D

  16. October 19, 2009 8:50 am

    Have you read Jane Eyre? I’d be interested on your thoughts vs. Pride & Prejudice… I have a sort of hobby going on to try to unite Austenians and Bronteans ^_^

    • October 19, 2009 9:13 am

      I did read Jane Eyre earlier this year, and I love love loved it! It’s very easily one of my absolute favourite books now.

I <3 Comments

