Skip to content

Book #34 – Pride and Prejudice (up next)

September 27, 2009

oxford-pride-and-prejudiceI am so excited about reading Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. For some reason, up to this year, I have shied away from the classics. Earlier this year I walked passed the Classics shelf at the library, saw Emma sitting there and thought “Hmm, maybe I’ll see what it’s like.” I’m sure you could see this coming, but I loved it. I surprised myself with how much I liked it. At the back of the book was a list of other suggested classics, so I made my own list of classics I wanted to read. And, of course, Pride and Prejudice was part of that list.

Another reason why I’m so excited to read this is because it means I get to crack open, er, I mean gently open, the brand new copy that my mom brought back from Oxford for me. I mean, look at it. It’s so pretty. This is the new Oxford University Press paperback cover. For someone who borrows most of the books she reads, opening up a brand new book that no one else has ever opened before, is even more exciting.

Alright, I’ve got some reading to do!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. cjz111 permalink
    September 27, 2009 12:59 pm

    I want to make a point to read more classics. The few I have read, I have so enjoyed. I am part of a blog tour idea (The Classics Circuit) that focuses on classic books and/or authors. Check it out when you get a chance. I am hoping it will give me some great ideas for new titles.
    http://classics.rebeccareid.com/

    • September 27, 2009 3:58 pm

      The classics blog tour is such a great idea. I’m sad to say that I haven’t read anything by any of the potential artists for the upcoming tour. I’m definitely going to keep an eye on this and maybe I’ll have some more classics to add to my to-read list.

  2. September 27, 2009 4:01 pm

    Oh, how cool! I’d love to be reading Jane Austen for the first time. I hope you enjoy Pride & Prejudice as much as you did Emma!

    • September 27, 2009 4:23 pm

      Any book that makes you want to hiss at a character within the first 10 pages is bound to be a good one. So yes, enjoying it so far!

  3. Vicki permalink
    September 30, 2009 5:18 am

    You’re gonna love Pride and Prejudice! You’ll find yourself drinking lots of English Tea! Enjoy!

I <3 Comments

