Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturdays – The Lit Report

September 26, 2009
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

Current Read: The Lit Report by Sarah N. Harvey

Once Sentence Summary: 17-year old Ruth gets pregnant then her and Julia, her bff, decide to hide it so she isn’t sent away.

Soundtrack Song: “Try Telling That To My Baby” by The Heavy Blinkers

Why I chose this song: Julia’s dad is a neonatal nurse, who’s specialty is singing to the babies. Specifically, songs with the word “baby” in the title. I love this song and think that he need to add it to his repertoire. Plus, the video is fantastic. I know that has nothing to do with the soundtrack, but here it is for you anyway!

What about you? If you’ve read The Lit Report, what song would you put on the soundtrack? Or, what song would you put on the soundtrack of your current read?

And most importantly, are you also craving cupcakes and candies now?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2009 8:58 pm

    I’ve never mentioned this, but I love your Soundtrack Saturdays because I totally try to match up music to what I’m reading, too! :D

    I just finished it, but I was reading We Didn’t Mean to Go to Sea by Arthur Ransome. I think the song that’d best fit would be Seven Seas of Rhye by Queen.

    Okay, maybe if WDMTGTS was set in the 80’s and was actually a rock-opera instead of a 1930’s children’s book. But it’s an awesome song and this part totally fits:

    “Oh I do like to be beside the sea
    When I’m down beside the sea I’m beside myself with glee
    Beside the seaside
    Beside the sea”

    (Alright, maybe 47 Ginger-Headed Sailors would be more in tune with the feeling of the book.)

  2. September 27, 2009 10:12 am

    Yay, I’m glad you like putting music and books together, too!

    Queen with a 1930’s children’s book is pretty awesome. Although, I could imagine a bunch of kids singing that part of the song, but probably sounding a little different than Freddie Mercury. :)

I <3 Comments

