Skip to content

Book #33 – The Lit Report (final thoughts)

September 26, 2009

Nobody’s life is all one way – tragic, comic, fantastic – it’s all just a big spicy jambalaya of absurdity, even without visitors from Tralfamadore. (p. 184)

The Lit Report by Sarah N. Harvey

The Lit Report by Sarah N. Harvey

Julia Riley and Ruth Walters have been inseparable since the age of four, combining Julia’s commonsense and Ruth’s creativity to make an awesome team. When Ruth gets pregnant at 17, they know for sure that her conservative parents will send her away, messing up all their great post-graduation plans, so it’s time to take action. The solution? Hide the pregnancy, delivery the baby in secret, and leave it at Ruth’s dad’s church, where it will be discovered and loved by a good family. Foolproof, right?

You have to suspend some belief while reading The Lit Report. It’s narrated by Julia, and she makes the story enjoyable. Her quick wit, love for the classics (and their first lines), and her commitment to her best friend make you want to root for her. But the adult in me also wanted to shaker and say “Don’t do it on your own! Tell a parent!” Yes, yes, I can be a spoilsport. 

The biggest problem I had with the book was it’s portrayal of all Christians as brainwashed nimrods, who are either spineless (women) or immovable (men). This changes a bit at the end of the book, but the continual reminder of Harvey’s opinion throughout the rest of the book became somewhat grating. 

Overall, it was a quick, light read – just what I was looking for this week!

My rating: 7/10

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2009 10:38 am

    Now I want to see how it ends!

    • September 26, 2009 1:37 pm

      I know, with a plan like theirs, you can’t turn away, you just need to know it all turns out!

  2. September 30, 2009 10:44 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! :) I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

I <3 Comments

