Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday (09.24.09)

September 24, 2009

This week BTT asks: What’s the saddest book you’ve read recently?

anybody out thereEasy – Anybody Out There by Marian Keyes. I read this way back at Christmas time, so I’m extending my definition of ‘recent’ a bit. I’ve read books since then that have been sad and made me cry, but I thought I was going to become dehydrated after this one. 

Anybody Out There is part of Keyes’ series on the Walsh family, and this one focuses on Anna. Anna, who used to wear hippie skirts and disappear for days at a time, has grown up and works for a top cosmetics line in New York. However, she has been in an awful car accident and is now recuperating on her parents’ couch in Dublin. Her injuries are quite severe, but all she can think about is getting back to her life in New York and wondering why her husband won’t return her calls.

Even thinking about the book now I can feel emotion building in my chest. How many ‘chick lit’ books can do that nine months after you’ve read them?

Edit: Maybe I should add that although this book was super sad, I LOVED it! One of my favourite books from last year.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 9:00 am

    Ouch!! Here is mine

  2. September 24, 2009 9:56 am

    I love a good cry in a book. I’ll have to check it out! I love books that take place in Ireland!

    • September 24, 2009 10:29 am

      I highly recommend this one! Make sure you pick up a box of tissues before reading.

  3. September 24, 2009 12:31 pm

    I’m going to have to look for that. I have a few of her books on my shelves waiting to be read.

    • September 24, 2009 12:35 pm

      I’ve only read a few of her books, but I recommend them left and right! Which ones do you have waiting to be read?

  4. September 24, 2009 1:04 pm

    I loved this one too and yes, as I recall, it did make me cry as more and more was revealed. I do like Marian Keyes’ stuff a lot.

  5. September 24, 2009 1:39 pm

    I loved this series by Marian too! This one was a tear jerker!

  6. September 24, 2009 2:54 pm

    That does sound sad :( But, I like a sad book now and again – it’s good to have a cry out every once and awhile.

  7. September 25, 2009 7:38 am

    It is always the super sad books that seem to stick with me and oftentimes end up my favorite books :)

  8. September 25, 2009 1:40 pm

    Kristen – I love that Keyes deals with tough, sometimes sad, subjects and still injects humor into it.

    Nise – I’ve only read two books in this series so far, but I really enjoyed both of them. There were times with this one that I didn’t even realize I was crying until tears fell onto the page.

    Susan B. Evans – This is one of the good sad books that you need to read!

    Tracie Yule – It’s true, it’s the ones with real emotion in them that stick with me longer, too.

  9. September 28, 2009 12:58 pm

    Love this one! I’m a huge fan of Keyes as well : )

    If you like Marian Keyes Kinsella, I think you would really love a book I wrote called ‘Knickles and Dimes’. It’s a really fun chicklit, with hilarious characters and a great story with a twist. Check it out!

    http://www.eloquentbooks.com/KnicklesAndDimes.html

    Thanks for the review!

    Jillian

I <3 Comments

