Skip to content

Book #33 – The Lit Report (up next)

September 24, 2009

the lit reportI had planned on reading Pride and Prejudice next, but I felt like I needed a bit of a break after The Historian. A light, quick break. And so, this afternoon I found The Lit Report by Sarah N. Harvey in my TBR pile. A friend of mine lent it to me months ago, but I kept forgetting about it each time I needed a new book to read.

The story is narrated by Julia Riley, a teenager growing up in an ultra conservative christian family (well, her mother) and school. It took about 2 pages for me to like Julia. Her wit and references to classics grabbed me instantly and I couldn’t stop reading.

I’m about 40 pages in right now and looking forward to the rest of the book. For now I’ll leave you with Julia’s view of being a kid:

I rarely argue with adults. It seems like such a waste of energy. In my view, childhood and adolescence are non-negotiable sentences. There is no appeal process. No time off for good behavior, no parol. You might as well just wait it out, make plans for your release and try not to piss off the wards and the other inmates. (p. 19)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 8:40 pm

    I can totally agree with that last statement.

    Hey I justed reviewed Catching Fire and set up a discussion board for it. Catching Fire Review

  2. inthemainstream permalink
    September 25, 2009 4:04 am

    Oh! This sounds good; I’ll have to check it out. Thanks!

I <3 Comments

