Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday (09.22.09)

September 22, 2009

teasertuesdays31Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly event hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. It’s easy enough to play along, just follow the Teaser Tuesdays link for rules.

My teaser comes from the book I finished last night, but since I haven’t decided what to read next, I’ll be teasing you with The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova once again.

If one of us said something – some platitude about visiting his beautiful country, for example – he shook his head with a broad smile, as if contradicting our statements. I was unnerved by this until Helen whispered to me that she’d read about this cultural idiosyncrasy: Bulgarians shook their heads in agreement and nodded in disagreement. (p. 555)

And here I thought nodding was one of those universal gestures. I guess not!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 5:01 am

    That would be confusing!

  2. September 22, 2009 5:05 am

    I have ben waiting to read this book. I really need to just order myself a copy. My teaser is here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/09/to-be-king-teaser-tuesdays.html

  3. September 22, 2009 5:51 am

    I enjoyed this book. It read kind of like DaVinci Code meets Bram Stoker. Hope you’re liking it too! =)

  4. September 22, 2009 5:55 am

    I really enjoyed this book – lots of great teasers there!

    My teaser is here.

  5. September 22, 2009 6:09 am

    I like historical books. Thanks for sharing.

    Here is my TT:

    http://gahome2mom.blogspot.com/2009/09/teaser-tuesday-think-no-evil-by-beiler.html

  6. September 22, 2009 6:30 am

    Wow…I am so glad that I have this book on my list to read in October.

    Here is my Teaser Tuesday

  7. September 22, 2009 7:13 am

    interesting . . . I was aware of that little bit of information. I have a good friend who lived most of her life in Bulgaria and came to America only recently. If you want to wander down my road I’m home.

  8. September 22, 2009 7:28 am

    Ohhh – great teaser. :) I remember talking about this same subject in a class, about how some things that mean one thing for us, can actually mean the opposite in another country (thumbs up is NOT a good thing in a few other countries!)

    Here’s my Teaser! ~ Wendi

  9. September 22, 2009 7:32 am

    Interesting teaser. I didn’t know that.
    Here’s mine

  10. cjz111 permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:26 am

    This one is next for me. I have waited long enough!!!! What did you think? I will watch for a review!

  11. September 22, 2009 10:33 am

    Interesting teaser!

    Someone gave me a copy of this book, and I have never been that interested in reading it. But I’m kind of intrigued now…

  12. sumanam permalink
    September 22, 2009 11:40 am

    wonderful teaser..here is mine:http://sumanam.wordpress.com/2009/09/23/teaser-tuesdays-4/

  13. September 22, 2009 11:41 am

    I think I’d have to read it in context. I am a little confused and have too many questions with your teaser, heh!

    Here is my teaser: http://www.wellreadreviews.com/blog/?p=979

  14. September 22, 2009 12:39 pm

    Good to see your sticking with this hefty read. I enjoyed it! Great teaser too!

    Ours are at

    http://teensreadandwrite.blogspot.com/2009/09/teaser-tuesday-sept-22.html

  15. September 22, 2009 3:13 pm

    I’ve thought about picking this one up, but I’m a little daunted. Nice teaser, though! You learn something new every day.

  16. September 22, 2009 5:33 pm

    ahh this one has been in my pile for a while

    Hre’s mine

  17. September 22, 2009 5:45 pm

    Great teaser! This book is long, which made me hesitate to read it…but after I picked it up I was hooked.

  18. September 22, 2009 5:54 pm

    Thanks for visiting my teaser! Yours is definitely interesting!

  19. September 22, 2009 6:24 pm

    Good tease. I have this on my list to read for the RIP IV Challenge. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

  20. stacybuckeye permalink
    September 22, 2009 8:25 pm

    Well, I learn something new every Tuesday!

  21. September 22, 2009 8:27 pm

    Nise – I know! It would take me a while to get used to that.

    Jennifer – Yes, go get a copy! :)

    Becky – I did really enjoy it! I haven’t read the DaVinci Code or Bram Stoker before, but now I really want to. Especially Stoker, since it’s referenced so many times in the book.

    LisaLynne – It was so easy to find good teasers! So much good stuff in there.

    GAhome2mom – You should try this one – there’s lot of history weaved into the story.

    Deanna – I’m glad you have it coming up, too! I really enjoyed the story.

    Kaye – It’s a good fact to know when you have a Bulgarian friend!

    Wendi B – Ha! Yeah, I’ve heard that. Sounds like a really interesting class.

    Andrea – It’s fun when you get to learn interesting facts like this in books :) Thanks for visiting!

    cjz111 – Yay, I hope you like it! I’ll have thoughts up soon. It took so long for me to get through it, I think I need a little break before I start thinking about it again.

  22. September 22, 2009 8:37 pm

    Alison Fletcher – If you have it there anyway, you really should read it!

    sumanam – Thanks for stopping by! Your teaser this week is really unique.

    Allison – Heh, yeah, it might make a bit more sense in context :)

    Alyssa Kirk – I’m glad I stuck with it. It took a while, but I really liked it. And hefty is right!

    La Coccinelle – You really should pick it up. Plus, it’s moodiness is perfect for fall!

    Lisa – Hopefully it moves to the top of the pile soon :) Thanks for visiting!

    Lizzy – I held off for a while, too, because of it’s size. I’ll admit, the size continued to be daunting while I read it – at some points I thought I would never finish! But it is a book that pulls you in.

    laurelrainsnow – Thanks! And thanks for returning the favour and stopping by :)

    Tam – Seems like quite a few people have this on their RIP list. I’d say it’s a good choice :)

    stacybuckeye – Yay for educational Teaser Tuesdays :)

  23. Carol permalink
    September 23, 2009 11:29 am

    I have yet to read this. I should buy it, then having it sitting on my shelf would make it more likely that I’ll pick it up.

    • September 23, 2009 5:18 pm

      Good idea! It had been sitting around here for a while, which is why I finally got around to reading it.

  24. September 24, 2009 12:57 pm

    Wow, that would be very confusing, but it sounds like an interesting book! Thanks for visiting!

  25. September 25, 2009 9:59 am

    now, that’s interesting and would be confusing! I should dig this book out of my TBR one day.

  26. September 28, 2009 5:42 am

    I really loved this book when I read it. Great teaser!! Thanks for stopping by my blog!!

I <3 Comments

