Skip to content

Friday Firsts (09.18.09)

September 18, 2009

The first line can make or break a reader’s interest. Just how well did the author pull you in to the story with their first sentence? To participate in this weekly book meme is extremely easy. Head to Well-Read Reviews for full details.

As if I need another weekly meme, but this one looks like lots of fun!

My Friday First comes from The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova.

In 1972 I was sixteen – young, my father said, to be traveling with him on his diplomatic missions.

I wouldn’t really say that this drew me into the story. In fact, it took quite a few sentences before I was drawn in, roughly 100 pages of them. But it did set up how the story was going to be told, using facts and dates that were all linked to the narrator through her father.

I chose the first sentence of the first chapter, but the book actually starts with a Note to the Reader, which begins:

The story that follows is one I never intended to commit to paper.

Okay, that one makes me want to read on!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2009 4:12 am

    That is great that you kept reading a book well into the 100s of pages before you felt committed. It always bothers me when that happens because I want to be drawn in right away! I’ve heard good things about THE HISTORIAN.. so I’ll give it a shot, anyway. :)

    • September 19, 2009 4:08 pm

      You really should try this book. It takes a bit for the story to pick up, but it is really enjoyable. The mood Kostova creates is wonderful and the plot has some good twists and turns in it.

  2. September 19, 2009 1:43 pm

    Wow, you’re patient if you gave the book 100 pages to interest you! I want a story to grab me on the first page, but usually give it a chapter or two before moving on. Probably should be more patient, but there are just so many other books out there calling my name! *L*

    • September 19, 2009 4:07 pm

      Haha :) The first 100 pages were still good, but it took a little while for the story to really pick up. Then again, the book is 800+ pages, so after 100 pages I hardly felt like I had made a dent. It is a good book though!

I <3 Comments

