Skip to content

Book #32 – The Historian – update

September 16, 2009

historian3It’s definitely been slow going, but I’ve made it past the halfway point of The Historian. The last couple hundred pages have flown by as I cheer on the characters working to unravel the mysteries of Drakulya, while also fearing for their safety.

The good news, though? I’ve only dreamt about vampires twice in the last week :) Which is pretty amazing, since I’ve been reading right before bed much more often than I usually do.

Let’s take a quick minute to look at this cover of The Historian. It just doesn’t seem to capture the mood of the book. It feels a little to lighthearted, almost on the verge of chick lit. Okay, so the drops of blood take away from the chick-lit feel. Out of the two I’ve looked at so far, I think the cover of the copy I’m reading gives a better idea of what the book is like.

Of to do some reading before bedtime!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 10:54 pm

    This is a lovely book. I hope you are enjoying it too…my copy of the book has a much better cover, very spooky and appropriate to the theme of the book.

  2. September 17, 2009 5:25 am

    Good dreams, or scary dreams? There are so many vampire books/films/TV shows around these days that it’s leaked into my subconscious a little bit too – sometimes fun and sometimes not so fun.

  3. September 17, 2009 6:41 am

    They must have changed the cover. The old cover was the whole reason I bought the book in the first place!

  4. September 17, 2009 9:47 am

    Nish – I know, this cover does not show the spookiness of the book at all. Which cover do you have?

    Jenny – Not really scary dreams, more just creepy. Vampires hiding in shadows, come out to demand to take my book from me. Very similar to the book, actually.

    Lisa – Yeah, I’m not a fan of this one. It looks like it’s the UK hardcopy cover: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Historian-Elizabeth-Kostova/dp/0316730319

  5. September 17, 2009 6:43 pm

    I’m so glad you’re reading this book. And I’m glad it’s going well now that you’ve gotten into it! I agree about the cover of the book. I have the same one you are reading. The one with the blood is a little more romantic than I feel the book is. Yes, it’s all tied up in love and I understand the blood and the ink – but I like the darkness of the book cover we have! :) I’m a book cover girl! I always judge a book by it’s cover!

I <3 Comments

