Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturdays – The Historian

September 12, 2009
tags:

This morning I was reading a review by Kay at the Infinite Shelf, and she had a link to an artist’s website. One thing that I really loved about this site was that there were song playlists for both of the artist’s books. It made me think, if I had to pick one song for a playlist for the book I’m currently reading, what would it be? So, of course, I’m going to share my pick with all of you :)

Current Read: The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

One Sentence Summary: A young historian’s research into the legend of Dracula (Vlad the Impaler) brings about sinister discoveries and terrifying consequences.

Feel.Love.Thinking.Of.-FauntsSoundtrack Song: Out On A Limb by the Faunts from their album Feel.Love.Thinking.Of.

Why I chose this song: It has a dreamy quality to it, with a forbidding undertone, that is found in the book as the characters search through time to find the truth behind the legend. Plus, it has lyrics like this: “Moments like these, trust me, they’ll come back to haunt you.”

What about you? What song would you include in the soundtrack for your current read?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicki permalink
    September 13, 2009 2:57 am

    What a terrific idea! Music is a language….so of course this works!

    I’ll have to get back to you on my selection…

    Very clever my dear!!!

    Hugs!

    • September 14, 2009 9:47 am

      Thanks :) Music is my everyday life, so it’s natural for me to associate it with anything else I do. I thought my blog would be safe, but alas, music has made it’s way into here anyway!

  2. September 13, 2009 5:52 pm

    Hey! I have a couple of awards for you over at my blog :)

  3. Sig (aka Mom) permalink
    September 13, 2009 11:15 pm

    Great idea Alita. I’ve just picked up “The Oxford Book of Oxford” again. I started it before I left for England and now I have the pleasure of trying to visualize the places described in this historical anthology.

    My suggested sound track would be Mozart’s “Laudate Dominum”, which has been one of my favourite choral works since I was in High School. There’s something about the soprano solo that makes you want to gaze upwards. Actually, it pulls you up gently. I felt that way the whole time I was in Oxford. It’s amazing I didn’t break an ankle on a curb or on cobblestones because I was always looking up. This piece does that for me too.

    It just so happens that while I was in Blackwells, my new favourite music store in Oxrord, I picked up “The Art of the Chorister” recorded by The Choir of New College Oxford. The final piece on the recording is this piece.

    That’s the piece for this chapter – but I may have to look for some suitable scary Bach organ work for future chapters when there’s all that trouble with the King and Rome.

    • September 14, 2009 9:53 am

      I should take a look at your Oxford Book of Oxford when you’re done with it. How fitting to listen to a piece performed by Oxfordites (Oxfordians?) while reading about Oxford. I’ll be looking forward to your scary Bach piece next week ;)

  4. September 14, 2009 5:27 am

    Please stop by, I have an award for you.

I <3 Comments

