Skip to content

Back To School Challenge

September 7, 2009

BtSbutton2I’m very excited about joining the Back to School Challenge hosted over at Five Borough Book Review. I feel like I’ve missed out on so many great books that were required reading for most people in high school, but for some reason I missed out on. Now’s a great time to catch up!

These are the books I plan on reading:

* 1984 by George Orwell

* Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

* Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

* Watership Down by Richard Adams

If you’re interested in joining, full details can be found here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 5:28 am

    Cool challenge! May I particularly recommend Watership Down? All the books you have there are really very wonderful, but Watership Down is my favorite of them all. (Er, but it is a very close call between it and Rebecca.) Plus, I am curious to see what a newcomer to it would think. :)

    • September 8, 2009 12:31 pm

      I’m really looking forward to all the books. I’ve wanted to read all of them for quite a while, but I guess I just needed some extra motivation :)
      Watership Down is one of my dad’s all-time favourite books, so I’m especially looking forward to it for that reason. Check back for updates in the next few months, I’m sure I’ll have a thing or two to say about it!

  2. September 8, 2009 3:25 pm

    1984 is amazing. I read it at university, for an essay on a dystopian future, and I re-read it a number of times. I never got bored of it.

    I have the other three on my TBR so looking forward to your reviews on them.

    Best of luck – always a good time to “go back to school”.

    • September 8, 2009 8:37 pm

      Thanks :)
      1984 is one of those books that somehow just slipped by me during my school days. Now that it’s part of my near-future reading plan, I can’t wait to read it!

  3. September 9, 2009 8:30 pm

    oh, 1984 was an amazing read…really creepy and sort of left me shuddering at the end.
    it took me a year of trying to read pride and prejudice but when i was ready, i got through it quickly and it became one of my absolute favorites.
    i have watership down but for some reason i don’t yet have the right frame of mind for it. you’ve given me motivation to try again!
    good luck!

  4. October 6, 2009 8:00 pm

    Good choices. I’ve only read 1-1/2 of those myself. I liked Rebecca, and am half way through 1984 right now. P&P has been on my to-read list a while (I have read four others by Austen), and only recently picked up Watership Down. I figure I will get to them eventually. *grin*

I <3 Comments

