Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday (09.01.09)

September 1, 2009

teasertuesdays31Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly event hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. It’s easy enough to play along, just follow the Teaser Tuesdays link for rules.

 

My quotes today are from Looking For Alaska by John Green, which I finished last night. I came across these two lines while reading, and I couldn’t decide on just one of them. So, here’s a two-for-one Teaser Tuesday for you!

I wanted to be one of those people who have streaks to maintain, who scorch the ground with their intensity. But for now, at least I knew such people, and they needed me, just like comets need tails. (p. 49)

 

The five of us walking confidently in a row, I’d never felt cooler. The Great Perhaps was upon us, and we were invincible. The plan may have had faults, but we did not. (p. 103)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 9:10 am

    They are both great teasers.
    http://busyisreading.blogspot.com/2009/09/teaser-tuesday.html

  2. Carol permalink
    September 1, 2009 10:08 am

    Awesome teasers. I can see why you couldn’t choose between them.

  3. September 1, 2009 10:24 am

    I want to leave scorches too! Nice. Here is mine

  4. September 1, 2009 10:33 am

    I enjoyed your “double feature” – I did the same. Great teaser this week! My teaser accompanies a giveaway on my blog this week.

  5. September 1, 2009 10:33 am

    I love your teasers! I have that book in my to be read pile.

  6. September 1, 2009 10:36 am

    Great teasers!

  7. September 1, 2009 10:55 am

    Great teasers! That seems to be going around today though. Everything I’m reading is making we want to add to my TBR pile.

  8. September 1, 2009 1:56 pm

    This book was interesting. I like your teaser!

  9. September 1, 2009 8:25 pm

    I agree! I wouldn’t be able to choose between those teasers either. Thanks for sharing both.

  10. September 1, 2009 10:30 pm

    powerfully descriptive, loved it

  11. September 2, 2009 12:03 am

    Like that first one, of being useful as the tail, even essential.

  12. Vicki permalink
    September 2, 2009 11:53 am

    Very cool quotes! Thanks!

  13. September 2, 2009 12:26 pm

    busy91 – Thanks! Your teaser made me chuckle :)

    Carol – There were so many good lines in this book, I’m surprised I could narrow it down to just those two!

    Bluestocking – Me too! Although I think I’m more of a comet tail.

    Susan B. Evans – Sometimes it’s hard to play by the rules ;)

    Jenna – You should read it! It’s a pretty quick read, but one that you won’t forget quickly.

    Lisa – Thank you :) You picked a really good one too…and you played by the rules…

    Ryan – I know, so many good teasers this week! I highly recommend adding this one to your to-read list!

    Sab H. – Thanks! When did you read the book?

    Catherine – I’m glad you liked them both!

    kaye – The book is really well-written and has lots of little gems like these.

    Mon – I think that was my favourite, too. The leaders aren’t the only ones who are important, they need their sidekicks.

    Vicki – Thank you! I love when you’re able to pull a line out of a book that still has an impact out of context.

  14. September 5, 2009 5:30 pm

    I absolutely loved that book…great teasers!!!

I <3 Comments

