Skip to content

Book #29 – Looking For Alaska – the end

September 1, 2009

looking for alaskaThere hasn’t been much to Miles Halter’s life. He’s done well in school, never had many friends, and spent most of his time reading biographies and memorizing the last words of famous people. But it was Francois Rabelais’ last words that had risen above all others: “I go to seek a Great Perhaps.” And so, in search of his own Great Perhaps, Miles’ life really begins during his junior year of high school.

Looking for Alaska by John Green is one of those books that’s hard to talk about without giving everything away. So I won’t talk about it much. I really did like this book. A lot. It starts off as one kind of book, then mid-way does a 180 and becomes something completely different. But the whole thing is united in Miles’ quest for the Great Perhaps. Yes, Miles meets a girl who changes his whole world, but the book is so much more than that typical story. 

I really like this cover of the book, which is completely different than the one I’m borrowing. They’re both simple, but both make a lot of sense once you’ve read the book. I have a feeling that this one is intended to pull in male readers while the other is intended for the female readers.

I highly recommend Looking For Alaska, especially if you’re in the mood for a great coming-of-age story.

My rating: 8/10

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Missy permalink
    September 2, 2009 6:48 am

    The cover caught my eye as well! Coming of age stories are one of my favorite genres, so I will add this book to my wish list. Thanks for the great review! :)

  2. September 2, 2009 10:05 am

    I love coming of age stories! It looks like a great read.

  3. September 2, 2009 12:11 pm

    Thank you both for stopping by! If you like coming of age books, I’m sure you’ll really like this one. I flew through the last half of the book because I just could not put it down. Apparently it’s being made into a movie, I can’t wait to see how it will turn out!

  4. cjz111 permalink
    September 2, 2009 1:26 pm

    I love books that give you an unexpected turn! I have heard of this one and now my interest is completely peaked!

  5. September 2, 2009 6:55 pm

    Thanks for dropping by my book blog.
    I’m here wandering through yours.

I <3 Comments

