Skip to content

It’s Monday! What are you reading? (08.31.09)

August 31, 2009
tags:

on_mondays

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Last week I read Hot Six by Janet Evanovich. It was exactly what you would expect it to be: light and fun. Just what you need every now and then.

Right now I’m reading Looking for Alaska by John Green. I should finish it in the next day or two, so I’ll save my thoughts on it for my concluding post.

Next up:

I Dreamed I Married Perry Mason by Susan Kandel, the first book in the Cece Caruso Mysteries series

The Historian by Elizabeth Kovstova, which I know has something to do with Dracula.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 12:43 pm

    I look forward to hearing what you think about Looking for Alaska. The Historian is on my list for September/October for the R.I.P. IV Challenge.

    Happy Reading!

  2. August 31, 2009 2:28 pm

    Oh, the Historian is so lovely! I hope you’ll enjoy it.

  3. Vicki permalink
    August 31, 2009 4:49 pm

    That is the Historian about?

  4. August 31, 2009 6:14 pm

    “The Historian” by Elizabeth Kovstova was a dry read, but I enjoyed it.

  5. August 31, 2009 6:28 pm

    I Dreamed I Married Perry Mason sounds like an interesting read! Is it a cozy type mystery or a hard-core mystery?

    THanks for dropping by my blog!

    Sharon

  6. August 31, 2009 7:10 pm

    I love, love, loved the Historian. So much, I went and bought it (I borrowed it for the first read). I can’t wait to see what you think of it!!!

    • August 31, 2009 7:16 pm

      Wow, this is making me look forward to it even more! Glad you liked it!

  7. August 31, 2009 7:14 pm

    Tam – I just finished Looking for Alaska and am hoping to get a post up about it tonight. It was much different than I thought it would be.

    Mae – I’m glad you enjoyed the Historian! I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Vicki – I really have no idea, other than that it’s about Dracula. But you can bet I’ll be posting about it once I start reading!

    J. Kaye – Thanks for the heads up! I plan on reading it between a couple lighter books to even things up.

    Sharon – I think it’s more of a cozy type mystery, especially since the main character is a former beauty queen :)

  8. September 1, 2009 2:34 am

    Hello, Alita!

    I absolutely loved The Historian. It has doorstop proportions, but the effort is really worth it. It makes all those vampire novels out today tame in comparison.

  9. September 1, 2009 5:42 am

    After reading the Historian I wanted to read Dracula again. I have to agree with J. Kaye, a bit of a dry read though.

  10. September 1, 2009 5:57 am

    Have a great reading week! :D

  11. September 2, 2009 12:30 pm

    Peter – I’m glad you liked it! I’m really looking forward to it, although the size seems a bit daunting.

    Mel – I’ve never read Dracula, maybe I will after The Historian!

    Ruthie – You too! Thanks for visiting :)

I <3 Comments

