Skip to content

Book #29 – Looking For Alaska

August 28, 2009

I took a little break from reading between these two book – almost two full days! Okay, so it was a day and a half, but it sure was long enough. I’m ready to get back in to things.

alaskaMy next book is Looking For Alaksa by John Green. I mentioned on Monday that I didn’t know anything about this book. And really, I knew nothing about it when I dove into it. It’s a bit embarrassing to admit, but I didn’t even realized the main character was male until I was 8 pages in. When was the last time I read a book where the protagonist wasn’t female? I have no idea. Well, besides Harry Potter.

Now that I’m about 20 pages in, I can tell you that it’s about Miles, smart kid who never really fit in with his public school peers, who is fascinated by people’s last lines before they die, and is in search of the Great Perhaps. As part of this search, he has decided to go to boarding school. And this is where he meets Alaska.

I did a little bit of research, and apparently a movie adaptation is set to come out next year, called Famous Last Words.

Lastly, a couple thoughts on this cover, which is the one on the copy I’ve borrowed from a friend.

1. I love it, it’s so sweet, and probably one of the reasons it rose to the top of my TBR pile.

2. With that cover, can you blame me for thinking the main character is female? I mean, really.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. stacybuckeye permalink
    August 30, 2009 7:59 pm

    From the cover I would assume the main character is female too!

  2. September 6, 2009 1:19 pm

    Tnx for nice blog. It’s really interesting, I’m continue to read your blog and waitning for your next posts =).

I <3 Comments

