Skip to content

Book #28 – Hot Six – the end

August 26, 2009

Hot_Six2That’s right, no updates for this one, just straight to the end. 

Bounty hunter Stephanie Plum is at it again. Inadvertently caught in the middle of a mob dispute, she does what only Stephanie can do: climbs trees, tampers with crime scenes, and causes a riot at a Trekkie convention. All without losing any volume in her super-teased hair.

Hot Six is yet another laugh-out-loud installment of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. And yes, I did laugh out loud to the point that I was getting interesting looks from people around me. It’s been quite a few months since the last book I read in the series, and this one definitely did not let me down.

All the familiar characters come out to play: Grandma Mazur (Stephanie’s grandma who seems to think she’s actually Stephanie’s younger sister), Joe Morelli (local cop/sometimes bf), Ranger (bounty hunting mentor), and Lula (Stephanie’s parter in crime, er, I mean crime fighting). They’re joined by some fun new characters who make the story all that much more enjoyable. Mobsters Mitchell and Habib are an entertaining duo, as are the stoner stolen goods dealers, Mooner & Dougie.

The only complaint I have about Hot Six is that the ending seemed rushed. At the time I was okay with the quick ending because I had some fresh-out-of-the-oven brownies waiting for me. But now that the brownies have been digested and I’ve had time to think about the book, I’m kind of disappointed by how everything wrapped up. The plot moved at a good pace throughout the book, picked up a bit near the end, and then Evanovich hit the brakes and in about 5 pages it was all over. 

My final impression is that Hot Six was like that chocolate bar you treat yourself to now and then: It’s thoroughly enjoyable, but before you know it, it’s all gone and you’re left wanting more. Now I have to use some self control so I don’t devour 9 more of them.

My rating: 8/10

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 9:03 pm

    I LOVE THE MOONER :)

  2. stacybuckeye permalink
    August 27, 2009 1:35 pm

    Interesting cover; I’ve not seen it before. Glad you are enjoying Stephanie’s antics :)

  3. cjz111 permalink
    August 31, 2009 2:08 pm

    I so have to get back into this series!

  4. September 16, 2009 11:09 pm

    This was the first book I read in the series. It really is a terrific one. I also love the cover on your copy. Very interesting!

    • September 17, 2009 10:40 am

      I think this is the cover of the audio book. The copy I read had the regular cover, but I like looking up alternate covers for books I read :)

Trackbacks

  1. Seven Up by Janet Evanovich (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

