Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday (08.18.09)

August 18, 2009

jane eyreTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly event hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. It’s easy enough to play along, just follow the Teaser Tuesdays link for rules.

I’m still reading Jane Eyre, so here’s another quote from this fantastic book:

The light was yet there; shining dim, but constant, through the rain. I tried to walk again: I dragged my exhausted limbs slowly towards it. It led me aslant over the hill, through a wide bog; which would have been impassible in winter, and was splashy and shaking even now, in the height of summer. Here I fell twice; but as often rose and rallied my faculties. This light was my forlorn hope: I must gain it. (p. 332)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 9:34 pm

    I absolutely love this book!!!!!!! Jane was the reason I started blogging about books. I loved it so much, I wanted to share my thoughts with everyone. Now I’m monster, but that’s beyond the point! Glad you’re loving it too!!!

    • August 19, 2009 10:02 am

      kariannalysis – Ha – a blogging monster! I think the book is doing that to me too. I mean, I’ve already written 5 posts on it, and I’m not even done yet. But there’s so much good stuff in it to talk about.

  2. August 18, 2009 9:43 pm

    Oh I haven’t read this book in so long. The sheer determination in that teaser is fantastic. I’m going to see what else you have to say about this book and then I’ll have to pull it off my shelf to reread.

  3. August 18, 2009 10:44 pm

    I adore Jane Eyre, it is one of the few books I will read again and again. thanks for stopping by.

  4. August 18, 2009 11:19 pm

    This book was really formative for me – and I’ve re-read it several times. You’ve pulled out a couple of great lines. You get the sense of Jane’s determination and struggle against the odds. Nice teaser!

    Mine is up here.

  5. August 19, 2009 12:51 am

    Thanks so much for visiting. I love this teaser.

  6. August 19, 2009 10:02 am

    I’ll be honest, my husband actually picked out this quote. I opened the page, and he picked out that line instantly, with never reading the book. But it really does give a good picture of Jane and her unwillingness to give up.

    Thanks all for stopping by!

  7. August 19, 2009 12:29 pm

    Ooohhh, I really really want to re-read Jane Eyre. I loved it more than I did Wuthering Heights. Thanks for the teaser!

I <3 Comments

