Skip to content

Book #27 – Jane Eyre – update 2

August 17, 2009

*SPOILERS GALORE*

He made me love him without looking at me. (p. 175)

jane eyre3Week #2 of Jane Eyre has begun. I just read the part where Mr. Rochester proposes to Jane and she is now telling him not to send for any jewels to give to her. Yes, yes, yes, appropriately, I teared up when he revealed his true feelings and that she was the only bride he wanted. But, yeesh, playing with a girl’s emotions like that is not cool.

Unfortunately I ruined the proposal moment a bit for myself, because I knew it was coming. Not because I was previously familiar with the story, but because I have this really bad habit of looking up information on books while I am reading them. Usually it’s reviews on amazon.com to get a general idea of what other people thought of the book. I have ¬†inadvertently found out many a plot twist and ending that way. This time, I was looking for a bit of background information on the book on wikipedia. I was reading about the main characters, and Mr. Rochester’s description said something about he and Jane getting married. It was like an alarm went off in my head: Danger! Stop Reading! STOP READING!

I closed my eyes and the tab quick enough that I didn’t see anything else and can hopefully continue on, blissfully unaware of what happens next.

Anyway, back to Jane Eyre. Without a doubt, part of what makes Jane such a beloved character is that she is so relatable. Here are a couple quotes that stood out to me that I could certainly relate to.

And while she broke the seal and perused the document, I went on taking my coffee (we were at breakfast): it was hot, and I attributed to that circumstance a fiery glow which suddenly rose to my face. Why my hand shook, and why I involuntarily spilt half the contents of my cup into my saucer, I did not choose to consider. (p. 164)

Who hasn’t tried to hide the way they react to possible news of someone of romantic interest, especially when that interest is not returned?

It is one of my faults, that thought my tongue is sometimes prompt enough at an answer, there are times when it sadly fails me in framing an excuse; and always the lapse occurs at some crisis, when a facile word or plausible pretext is specially wanted to get me out of painful embarrassment. (p. 249)

Yup been there: Awkward situation, and just can’t come up with anything to make it better.

Today’s Jane Eyre cover: Little Adele with Jane, who is keeping a close, scrutinizing eye on the flighty Miss Ingram. At the least that’s the scene I can come up with having read half the book.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 2:24 pm

    I am glead to hear you are enjoying Jane Eyre as much as I did when I first read it. It’s a really wonderful book!

  2. Vicki permalink
    August 17, 2009 9:27 pm

    After reading your passionate posting…I’ve got to go back and read my first love…”Jane Eyre”! Thanks for sharing!

    • August 18, 2009 1:28 pm

      I think this will be one of the very few books I buy after reading because it’s one of the few books I know I’ll love reading again. I hope you enjoy the book again this time around!

  3. Vicki permalink
    August 18, 2009 1:53 pm

    Yes…I encourage you to purchase the book ….over the years I return to its pages like a newly born reader!

  4. August 18, 2009 10:47 pm

    Jane is completely relatable, I think any woman probably feels like they could be Jane if they were born in that era. I adore her–and Mr. Rochester.

    • Vicki permalink
      August 19, 2009 1:10 am

      I totally agree Kaye!!!!

I <3 Comments

